Date: Thursday, March 8, 2018
Time: 5:30 p.m. Cocktails | 7:00 p.m. Dinner & Program
Location: Seawell Grand Ballroom | Denver Center for the Performing Arts

Now in its 37th year, the annual Colorado Law Alumni Awards Banquet is the University of Colorado Law School's signature alumni event, where we celebrate our community and honor our distinguished alumni.

Click Here to Purchase Individual Tickets or Wine Sponsorships

For information about registering as a banquet sponsor, please contact

We are pleased to honor the following individuals in 2018:

William Lee Knous Award
Peter C. Dietze (’62), Dietze and Davis, P.C. (retired)

Distinguished Achievement—Recent Alumnus
Javed M. Abbas (’13), The Harris Law Firm P.C.

Distinguished Achievement—Corporate Counsel
Sonny Cave (’85), ON Semiconductor

Distinguished Achievement—Public Sector
Timothy Monahan (’87), Colorado Office of the Attorney General

Distinguished Achievement—Private Practice
Niki Frangos Tuttle (’84), Hogan Lovells

Dean’s Choice—Richard Schaden Adopted Alumna Award
Chief Justice Nancy E. Rice, Colorado Supreme Court

Dean’s Choice—Dean Edward C. King Making a Difference Award
Mekela Goehring (’02), Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy Network


Honorees for the 2018 awards have been selected, but we are already looking for 2019's recipients. Do you know a friend, classmate, or colleague who is deserving of recognition? Nominate them for the 2019 awards today! ​

Submit Your Nomination

We honored the following individuals at our 2017 banquet:

William Lee Knous Award
The Honorable Bill Ritter, Jr. (’81), former Governor of Colorado, former District Attorney of Denver, and Founder and Director of the Center for the New Energy Economy (CNEE) at Colorado State University

Distinguished Achievement—Solo/Small Practice
Gary B. Blum (’71), Director, Silver & DeBoskey, P.C.

Distinguished Achievement—Private Practice
Hugh Q. Gottschalk (’79), Partner and President, Wheeler Trigg O’Donnell LLP

Distinguished Achievement—In-House Counsel
Beverly E. Ledbetter (’72), Vice President and General Counsel, Brown University

Distinguished Achievement—Public Service
The Honorable Pat Steadman (’91), Senator, Colorado General Assembly

Dean’s Choice—Richard Schaden Adopted Alumna Award
The Honorable Christine M. Arguello, Judge, United States District Court, Colorado

View videos about each of the honorees below: