Guevara and Leeser win 2015 Rothgerber Moot Competition

John Michael Guevara ('15) and Holly Leeser ('16) won the 2015 Rothgerber Moot Court Competition, arguing before a prestigious panel of judges.

Held on Tuesday, February 24th in the Wittemyer Courtroom, Guevara and Leeser teamed up against Zach Siegel ('15) and Abbey Wallach ('15) (Best Oralist) to argue a fictional case about the fourth amendment. Siegel and Wallach represented the Respondents, while Guevara and Leeser represented the Petitioner. 

The Questions Presented were:

1. Does the Fourth Amendment permit law enforcement officers to conduct a protective sweep of a home without a warrant when the sweep is not incident to a lawful arrest?
2. May law enforcement agents incorporate specialized experience and knowledge in determining if a container has illegal contraband, thereby justifying a lawful warrantless search under the plain view doctrine?

These competitors were faced with a hot bench of Judges and Justices from the Tenth Circuit and Colorado Supreme Court.  They put on a spectacular and impressive performance. 

This year's panel of judges included:

- The Honorable Allison Eid, Colorado Supreme Court
- The Honorable Scott Matheson, Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals
- The Honorable Greg Phillips, Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

Colorado Law Wins the National Telecommunications Moot Court Competition

For the second year in a row, CU Law swept the Telecom Moot Court Competition held in Washington D.C. on February 7th, 2015.  Abby Harder, Ethan Jeans, and Cole Woodward comprised this year's winning team.  Hosted at Catholic University, CU's team took home the title for the second year in a row, and the third time in the competition’s 21 year history, arguing in the final round in front of the FCBA President and two former General Counsels for the FCC.  Ethan Jeans also won the competition’s Best Oralist award.

The team was coached by Clinical Professor Blake Reid and Silicon Flatirons Senior Fellow Bill Levis.