Published: Sept. 18, 2018

Dean AnayaWith approval Sept. 14 by the Board of Regents, Dean S. James Anaya was one of seven newly designated distinguished professors at the University of Colorado.

Distinguished professors are faculty members who demonstrate exemplary performance in research or creative work, a record of excellence in classroom teaching and supervision of individual learning, and outstanding service to the profession, the university and its affiliates.

The CU campuses nominate faculty for the award, the highest honor bestowed upon faculty across the system's four campuses. President Benson then reviews the nominations and, with the recommendation of the Distinguished Professors Committee, forwards the candadates' names to the Board of Regents.

Read more.

Université de Sherbrooke Awards Dean Anaya Honorary Doctorate

During its September 22 convocation ceremony, Quebec's Université de Sherbrooke awarded Dean Anaya an honorary doctorate for his work defending the rights of indigenous peoples.

Anaya Doctorate Degree

Université de Sherbrooke President Pierre Cossette with Dean Anaya during the convocation / Photo: Michel Caron