Published: May 9, 2013

The University of Colorado Law School celebrates the graduating class of 2013 on Friday, May 10 at 6:00 p.m. in Macky Auditorium.

The ceremony will begin with a processional of the deans, faculty, and class of 2013, followed by remarks by Dean Phil Weiser.

This year’s keynote speaker is Senator Mark E. Udall, who was elected to the U.S. Senate in 2008. Prior to that, he represented Colorado’s 2nd Congressional District for five terms and served one term in the Colorado State Legislature as a member of the General Assembly representing the 13th District. 

The class of 2013 selects and introduces the commencement speaker and was thrilled Senator Udall accepted the invitation.

Chief Judge Marcia S. Krieger (’79) will receive the 2013 Honorary Order of the Coif. The faculty voted to bestow this honorary designation to Judge Krieger based on her exemplary service to the legal community and her admirable work as a mentor and a role model in the legal profession.

Dean Weiser said, “Chief Judge Krieger was a natural choice for this honor with her impressive legal career, her contributions to the Colorado legal community, and her commitment to mentoring and professionalism.”

In 1994, Judge Krieger became both the second woman and the youngest judge to serve on the U.S. Bankruptcy Court, and was still the youngest judge when she was appointed chief judge in 2000.

The class of 2013 voted to select the professors who will place the JD hood on the graduates: Amy Bauer, Harold H. Bruff, and Scott R. Peppet.

Sixty-five students completed the Public Service Pledge by volunteering 50 hours or more of law-related public service work, not for credit or other compensation, during their time at law school.

The generosity of class of 2013 was shown with donation of nearly $66,000 to the Loan Repayment Assistance Program (LRAP), including a generous matching gift from alum John Schultz (’53).

Student award recipients are:

  • Austin W. Scott, Jr. Award: Kayla Christine Smith
  • Courtland H. Peterson Leadership Award: Jessica Jodene Smith
  • Courtland H. Peterson Writing Award: Richard Fuller Lee
  • Don W. Sears Award: Christopher William Weigand
  • Excellence in Clinical Education Award: Holly Catherine Andersen, Preston Randolph Dryer, Theodore Vandershaf Hewitt, George Robert Lyons Jr., Zachary D. Martin, Molly Kathleen Owens
  • Gary C. Bryner Distinguished Service Award: Jon Daniel Lavallee
  • Getches-Wilkinson Center for Natural Resources, Energy, and the Environment Outstanding Student Award - Ashley Curran Palomaki
  • Irving P. Andrews Award: Adria Dione Robinson
  • Journal of Telecommunications and High Technology Law Stephen Williams Leadership Award: Lauren Grace Boesel
  • Meritorious Student Award: Ariel Jacob Stiller-Shulman
  • Outstanding Asian Pacific American Law Graduate Award: Surbhi Garg, Anne Jin Lee
  • Outstanding Latina/o Law Graduate Award: Tonya Leigh Luna
  • Outstanding Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Law Graduate Award: Sarah Yael Morris
  • Outstanding Student Mentor Award: Rachelle Yeung
  • Student Bar Association Sutcliffe Distinguished Service Award: Martina Hinojosa
  • Women’s Law Caucus Award: Jennifer Robin Friedberg