Published: Feb. 14, 2013

Chief Justice Michael L. Bender to receive Knous Award  

The University of Colorado Law School will its 32nd Annual Law Alumni Awards Banquet at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts Seawell Grand Ballroom on Wednesday, March 13, 2013 from 5:30-9:00 p.m. The school’s signature alumni event is an opportunity to celebrate community, reconnect with classmates, and present awards to honor distinguished alumni. The awardees for this year’s banquet include:

  • The Honorable Michael L. Bender ('67) for the William Lee Knous Award, Colorado Law's highest alumni honor
  • Regina M. Rodriguez ('88) for Distinguished Achievement in Private Practice
  • The Honorable Timothy M. Tymkovich ('82) for Distinguished Achievement in the Judiciary
  • Carole J. Yaley ('80) for Distinguished Achievement in Industry

Presented annually to a distinguished graduate of the law school, the William Lee Knous Award was established in memory of alumnus William Lee Knous, former Colorado governor, Colorado Supreme Court justice, Colorado legislator, and U.S. district court judge. 

Dean Phil Weiser describes this year’s recipient, Chief Justice Michael L. Bender of the Colorado Supreme Court, as an alumnus who exemplifies the very qualities embodied by the award—service, professionalism, integrity, and dedication to community. Bender, a former public defender and private lawyer, was appointed to the Supreme Court in 1997 and became Chief Justice in 2010.

In addition, Weiser will present two Dean's Choice awards to recognize two individuals who have made exceptional contributions to Colorado Law this year:

  • John H. Schultz ('53) for the Dean Edward C. King "Pay it Forward" Award
  • Jason Mendelson for the Richard Schaden "Adopted Alumnus" Award

Tickets are $150 for general admission, $100 for public service admission.  Additional sponsorship opportunities are available by visiting  Net proceeds of this year’s event will support the Dean’s Fund for Excellence.

Platinum Sponsors


Wednesday, March 13, 2013
5:30–9:00 p.m.
Denver Center for the Performing Arts | Seawell Grand Ballroom
1101 13th Street
Denver, CO 80204