Published: Oct. 30, 2005

This year it came down to two teams, a 2L team consisting of J.P. Martin and Pat Haines and a 3L team consisting of David McDivitt and Brian Mason.  Their battle in court was judged by the Honorable Judge Carrigan and his two sons, one of whom is Michael Carrigan, CU's Regent.It was finally decided today that David McDivitt and Brian Mason are winners of the 2005 Carrigan Cup with their outstanding performance and big thanks to their outstanding witnesses, Michael Wautlet and Andrew Philips.The Winner of the Best Oralist of the 2005 Carrigan Cup also went to J.P. Martin, who individually scored the highest points in the competition.The Carrigan Cup semi-finalists included Lisa Pearson, Mario Nicolais, Christian Gardner-Wood, and Adam Kendall.Every year the CU Law conducts the Carrigan Cup Competition to select two teams to compete in the National Trial Competition, the nation's oldest and most prestigious trial advocacy competition.  The School of Law first conducts an internal competition (the Carrigan Cup) administered by faculty advisers to select teams to enter the regional competition that is held on a rotating basis at participating law schools in the West. The Carrigan Cup endowment was established by family and friends in honor of judge and former faculty member Jim R. Carrigan.Students compete in moot court competitions to develop skills in appellate brief writing and oral argument, and gain valuable trial practice experience. The Dean's Fund and endowments provide financial assistance to support student participation in these competitions. CU teams have consistently been extremely competitive in which they participate. Selection of teams varies by competition.