Published: April 9, 2019

JoAnn SilversteinProfessor JoAnn Silverstein has been awarded the 2019 Perry L. McCarty AEESP Founders’ Award for her sustained and outstanding contributions to environmental engineering education and practice. The Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (AEESP) is dedicated to improving education in the fields of environmental engineering and science. Silverstein is the College of Engineering and Applied Science's associate dean for faculty advancement, and her research focuses on water and wastewater treatment process analysis.

“I am deeply honored to receive the Perry L. McCarty AEESP Founders’ Award. I want to thank my colleagues at the University of Colorado Boulder who nominated me, others who supported my nomination, and the AEESP membership for this recognition of my contributions to environmental engineering and science. It has been 37 years since I joined AEESP, and being part of the growth in the organization’s membership -- including many of my own outstanding students, its intellectual breadth, and its diversity -- has been a highlight of my career.”

Professor Karl G. Linden was selected to receive the 2019 Walter J. Weber Jr. AEESP Frontier in Research Award. This award is given annually to recognize an environmental engineering or science professor who has advanced the environmental engineering and science field through recognized research leadership and pioneering efforts in a new and innovative research area.

“This AEESP Frontier in Research Award is definitely a top highlight of my career, and I thank AEESP and my peers in the environmental engineering community for acknowledging the importance of the research my students and I Karl Lindenhave engaged in over the years.  I am very lucky to have collaborated with stimulating colleagues and mentored so many amazing students who have brought their creativity and intellect to create impactful research that benefits our planet and its inhabitants.  The community here at CU Boulder has certainly nurtured and enabled these successes in our environmental engineering program.”

 Linden is the Mortenson Professor in Sustainable Development and associate director of the Mortenson Center in Engineering for Developing Communities.

Silverstein and Linden will be awarded at the AEESP award ceremony on May 16 at the Research and Education Conference at Arizona State University.