Bands Audition Information

Visit the Golden Buffalo Marching Band page for information about joining the marching band.

Membership in the Wind Symphony and Symphonic Band is determined solely by auditions. Each audition will be 7-10 minutes in length. Sign-up sheets will be available on the bulletin board outside E-172 beginning Aug. 10. Each person should have a prepared solo or etude & the downloadable excerpts and will be asked to sight-read. All auditions will take place in Grusin Music Hall. Wind auditions for the CU Symphony Orchestra will take place at the same times.

Concert Band seating auditions

Note: Seating in the Concert Band will be determined by audition; however, no audition is required to join the Concert Band.

We hope you’ll join us for our very exciting spring semester featuring a concert celebrating David Maslanka, who will be CU’s composer in residence in February! The Concert Bands meets for rehearsals Monday and Wednesday from 4 to 6 p.m. A limited number of rental instruments are available for $20 per semester.

Important Concert Band dates for Spring Semester:

  • Wednesday, Jan. 18: First rehearsal and seating auditions
  • Wednesday, Feb. 8: Dress rehearsal (4-6 p.m.)
  • Thursday, Feb. 9: Concert with Symphony Band in Macky Auditorium (7:30 p.m.)
  • Wednesday, March 1: Dress rehearsal (4-6 p.m.)
    • Concert in Grusin Music Hall (7:30 p.m.)
  • Wednesday, April 19: Dress rehearsal (4-6 p.m.)
    • Concert with Symphony Band in Macky Auditorium (7:30 p.m.)

Wind Symphony and Symphonic Band auditions

Friday, Aug. 19  

Saturday, Aug. 20

Sunday, Aug. 21 

Results will be posted on the bulletin board Monday, Aug. 22 after 12 p.m.

Regular rehearsals for the Wind Symphony begin on Tuesday, Aug. 23.

Regular rehearsals for the Symphonic Band begin on Wednesday, Aug. 24.  

If you have UNAVOIDABLE conflicts for the audition, it may be possible to arrange an alternate audition time. Please contact the Band Office at 303-492-6584.