Published: Sept. 28, 2020

Debanjan MukherjeeAssistant Professor Debanjan Mukherjee is one of the recipients of the 2020 Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Awards. These competitive awards are aimed to help ORAU member institutions retain their best young faculty members. Mukherjee was nominated for this award through a campus-wide internal competition and is one of 35 junior faculty nationwide to receive the award. This award is in support of Mukherjee’s research proposal on developing bench-top vascular flow loop systems for embolic stroke. The award includes seed funds and matching funds from the Paul M. Rady Mechanical Engineering Department, which will enable the FLOWLab research group to create a pilot flow-loop system to study how embolic particles travel across arteries to cause stroke, a leading causes of death and disability worldwide.