The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine are nonprofit institutions that provide expert advice on some of the most pressing challenges facing the nation and the world. This work helps shape sound government policy, inform public opinion and advance the pursuit of science, engineering and medicine. Election into the National Academies is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer or scientist.

The faculty of the College of Engineering and Applied Science includes 13 National Academy members.


bernard amadei

Bernard Amadei

Distinguished Professor
Bernard Amadei is a Distinguished Professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering. He received his PhD in 1982 from the University of California at Berkeley. Amadei was the founding director of the Mortenson Center in Engineering for Developing Communities at CU Boulder and founding recipient of the Mortenson Endowed Chair in Global Engineering. He is also the founding president of Engineers Without Borders - USA and the co-founder of the...
Professor Kristi Anseth of the University of Colorado Boulder's Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering.

Kristi Anseth

Tony Tisone Endowed Chair • National Academies: American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2019), National Academy of Sciences (2013), National Academy of Engineering (2009), National Academy of Medicine (2009) • Frontiers of Engineering: U.S. Chair (2012-2014), U.S. Organizing Committee (2004), U.S. Participant (1998) • NSF CAREER Award (1998)
Penny Axelrad

Penina Axelrad

Negler Endowed Professorship in Aerospace Engineering
Penina Axelrad is the Joseph T. Negler Professor in the Smead Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences. Her research interests include technology and algorithms for GNSS-based position, navigation, and timing in space, airborne, marine, and land environments, multipath characterization and correction, and remote sensing using GNSS-based reflectometry and radio occultation measurements. She is an active member of the Institute of Navigation (ION), having served in numerous positions including President of the...
Daniel Baker

Daniel Baker

Professor in Astrophysical & Planetary Sciences and Smead Aerospace
Daniel Baker was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2010. He has experience in the analysis of large data sets from spacecraft at geostationary orbit and has been involved in missions to the Earth's deep magnetotail and comets, in the study of solar wind-magnetospheric energy coupling, and thoretical modeling of the possible role of heavy ions in the development of magnetotail instabilities. Baker has devoted much of his...
frank barnes

Frank Barnes

Distinguished Professor in Electrical & Computer Engineering
Frank S. Barnes is the recipient of the 2004 Gordon Prize for pioneering an Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program (ITP) that produces leaders who bridge engineering, social sciences, and public policy. He joined the University of Colorado Boulder in 1959. In addition to co-founding the Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program, he has taught in the areas of optical electronics, bioelectromagnetics, and optical communications. He has supervised more than 30 PhD and 200 MS thesis...
Chris Bowman

Christopher Bowman

Patten Endowed Chair in Chemical Engineering
Chris Bowman is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering. A world expert in photopolymerization, Bowman designs advanced materials for dental restorations, biomaterials, liquid crystal displays and more. Bowman joined the faculty in 1992 and is a former department chair, former associate dean for research in the college and founding director of the Materials Science and Engineering Program. He also serves as co-director of the NSF...
robert braun

Robert D. Braun

Smead Endowed Chair of Space Technology
Robert D. Braun is dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Colorado Boulder. He is also the college's first Smead Endowed Chair of Space Technology, a position that recognizes leadership, creativity and technical excellence in space systems. Braun is the former David and Andrew Lewis Professor of Space Technology at the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he served on the faculty from 2003-16. Prior...
ross corotis

Ross Corotis

Ross Corotis received both his undergraduate and graduate education at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. While at MIT, he was an NSF Graduate Fellow. He was on the faculty at Northwestern University for 11 years, and was awarded the Technological Institute Teaching Award in 1977. He was twice named to the Student Government Faculty Honor Roll, and in 1979 was selected Civil Engineering Teacher of the Year. In 1981, Corotis...
david marshall

David Marshall

Research Professor in Mechanical Engineering & Aerospace Engineering
Before joining CU Boulder in 2016, David Marshall was a senior fellow at Teledyne Scientific Co. and Rockwell Science Center, where he worked with NASA, various Department of Defense agencies, universities and companies on developing high-temperature materials and structures for aerospace propulsion and thermal protection. While at Teledyne, he led the NASA/AFOSR-funded National Hypersonic Science Center for Materials and Structures and was an adjunct professor in the Materials Department at...
diane mcknight

Diane McKnight

Professor in Civil, Environmental & Architectural Engineering
Diane McKnight is director of the Center for Water, Earth Science and Technology, and co-director of the Hydrologic Sciences graduate program. Her research focuses on the biogeochemistry of natural organic material and trace metals in streams and lakes, and the consequences for water supplies. She has conducted research on stream ecosystems as part of the McMurdo Dry Valleys Long-Term Ecological Research (MCM-LTER) project and on alpine lakes and acid mine...
dan scheeres

Daniel Scheeres

A. Richard Seebass Endowed Chair
Daniel Scheeres is a University of Colorado Distinguished Professor and the A. Richard Seebass Chair in Aerospace Engineering Sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder. Following a five year tenure at the Jet Propulsion Lab's Navigation Systems Section and professorships at Iowa State University and the University of Michigan, Scheeres joined the Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences in 2008. He has since become a vital member of the Colorado Center...
Adjunct Professor

Philippe Spalart

Adjoint Professor of Aerospace
Philippe R. Spalart obtained his Math and Engineering BS from Ecole Polytechnique Paris in 1978, and his MS and PhD in Aeronautics and Aerospace from Stanford in 1979 and 1982. He then conducted post-doctoral research on direct numerical simulation of transitional and turbulent boundary layers at NASA Ames until 1990 when he joined Boeing. At Boeing, he created the Spalart-Allmaras one-equation RANS model. In 1997 he created the Detached-Eddy Simulation...
Kaspar William

Kaspar Willam

Professor Emeritus
After completing his undergraduate degree at the Technical University of Vienna, Austria, in 1964, Kaspar Willam continued his studies with graduate work at California State University San Jose and at the University of California Berkeley. He received his PhD degree in 1969. Upon returning to Europe in 1970, he directed a large-scale R&D project at the University of Stuttgart. In 1980 he was promoted to Universit¨atsdozent for Structural Mechanics in...