team 15 project photo
Above: The front and back view of a single-seat, off-road vehicle built to withstand rough terrain for the SAE Baja Competition. 
Top Image: Team members from left to right: Back row: Clement Tan, Alexander Smith, Tristan Briggler, Kelton Collins, Jack Uddenberg, Alex Tilmes, Benjamin Hanpeter. Front row: Nicholas Gunter, A. Caio Gajdys, Afnan Al-haj, Robert Giannella, Ryan Weatherbee, Jacob Hunt. 

SAE Baja is a competition run by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) in which collegiate teams design, build and race single-seat, off-road vehicles that can withstand the punishment of rough terrain. The CU Baja 2020 team has designed and built fully custom suspension, chassis, drivetrain, and control systems, in addition to implementing its first-ever all-wheel drive system.


Competition team sponsored by Stolle Machinery and EMJ. Other contributors include Engineering Excellence Fund, University Auto parts, ME Engineers, Colorado Waterjet Company, PowerSports Nation, Northrop Grunman Foundation and McGuckin Hardware. 


Peter Himpsel

Team Members

  • Afnan Al-haj - Financial and Drivetrain
  • Tristan Briggler - Controls
  • Kelton Collins - Chassis
  • A. Caio Gajdys - Logistics and Controls
  • Robert Giannella - Rear Suspension
  • Nicholas Gunter - Drivetrain
  • Benjamin Hanpeter - Drivetrain
  • Jacob Hunt - Financial and Front Suspension
  • Alexander Smith - Rear Suspension
  • Clement Tan - Manufacturing and Drivetrain
  • Alex Tilmes - Project Manager
  • Jack Uddenberg - Chassis
  • Ryan Weatherbee - Front Suspension

Project Links

Leave a comment for Team 15

Back to All Projects