Mark Rentschler, Greg Rieker

Rentschler, Rieker named National Academy of Inventors Senior Fellows

Feb. 12, 2021

Debanjan Mukherjee

Mukherjee receives Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award

Sept. 28, 2020

Debanjan Mukherjee received a Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award, enabling his research group to create a pilot flow-loop system to study how embolic particles travel across arteries to cause stroke.

Morgan Kauss climbs a 14er

Meet class of 2020 Outstanding Student Award winners

May 12, 2020

Meet Class of 2020 Outstanding Student Award winners Mohammed Alwakeel, Jonathan Bosnich, Morgan Kauss, Luke Pagni, Gabe Rodriguez, Paul Salame, and Sam Simons-Wellin. They received honors for their service, international engagement, research, and academic achievement.

Ruhan Yang e-trombone

Ruhan Yang and teammates win first place at Georgia Tech's Moog Hackathon

March 3, 2020

ME alumna Ruhan Yang, who is now pursuing a Creative Technology and Design master's degree with ATLAS Institute won first place for her team's e-Trombone at Georgia Tech's annual Moog Hackathon.

National Science Foundation logo.

NSF honors students with Graduate Research Fellowships in 2018

The National Science Foundation is honoring six current or incoming University of Colorado Boulder mechanical engineering students with Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) awards and five students with honorable mentions.

Rong Long

Rong Long lands NSF CAREER Award

March 2, 2018

Congratulations to University of Colorado Boulder mechanical engineering Assistant Professor Rong Long for earning a National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) Award! The initiative recognizes early-career faculty working at universities across the United States who have the potential to serve as academic role models in both research...

Xiaobo Yin

Xiaobo Yin named 2017 Moore Inventor Fellow

Nov. 7, 2017

University of Colorado Boulder mechanical engineering professor Xiaobo Yin has been named a 2017 Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Moore Inventor Fellow , an award bestowed on scientist-inventors for their inventions in scientific research, environmental conservation and patient care. Yin, an assistant professor in CU Boulder’s Department of Mechanical Engineering,...

Christoph Keplinger

Keplinger earns Packard Fellowship

Oct. 16, 2017

Pushing the boundaries of science requires flexibility. Allowing scientists to follow where their research takes them, even if that is into areas that may seem illogical to some, often is what leads to the most remarkable breakthroughs. For some researchers, this is never an option, as the funding they receive...

Aerial shot of campus.

Violet Mwaffo Selected for Chancellor's Postdoctoral Fellowship

June 5, 2017

Dr. Violet Mwaffo will join the Department of Mechanical Engineering researching data-driven stochastic modeling and network-based tools to study zebrafish swimming behavior, fluid dynamics and fish-robot interactions. Each year, the University of Colorado Boulder awards the Chancellor’s Postdoctoral Fellowship to postdoctoral scholars whose creative work/research, teaching and/or service contribute to...

Daria Kotys-Schwartz

Kotys-Schwartz Awarded Design Excellence Fellowship

May 26, 2017

What makes a good engineer? A strong drive to excel, an interest in pushing the limits of technology, and inquisitiveness about how the world works. Another critical component: a good education from people like Daria Kotys-Schwartz. She has many duties in the college–instructor, director of the Idea Forge, co-director of...