On Feb. 21, 1970, the University of Colorado Board of Regents voted to establish CU Boulder’s first Department of Computing Science. A few months later, the name was updated to the Department of Computer Science, and Lloyd Fosdick was appointed as the founding chair. Since that time, the department has grown into a dynamic group of researchers, students and alumni dedicated to diversity in computing, entrepreneurship and innovations that tackle important societal challenges.  

When in-person events are feasible again, we will be celebrating our accomplished alumni, research successes and inspirational students during an event in Boulder. We hope you’ll plan to join us! More event details will be coming soon - sign up below if you'd like to be among the first to know.   

Sign Up for Updates