Students gathered for a photo at NCSU for the symposium

ChBE students make an impact at NCSU Future Leaders in Chemical Engineering symposium

Dec. 7, 2021

Students from the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering presented their research as part of the competitive NC State University Future Leaders in Chemical Engineering symposium this past October. Three students from the department were recognized as awardees.

Tunkie Saunders

Saunders named in Forbes Under 30 list for leading the green energy transition

Dec. 6, 2021

Tunkie Saunders leads metallurgy development at Redwood Materials, a Nevada-based company, founded by JB Straubel, that is building a lithium-ion battery recycling process, devised by Tunkie, to extract lithium selectively from old batteries, in a pure form.

Abstract blueprint

McGehee and Toney recognized as highly cited researchers

Nov. 22, 2021

Two faculty from ChBE were recognized at highly cited researchers for 2021.

Mike McGehee

McGehee named highly cited researcher at NREL

Nov. 18, 2021

Eight researchers affiliated with the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) are on this year’s list of Highly Cited Researchers, with many familiar names from the 2020 list.

liquid crystal elastomer undergoing actuation

White Group applies controlled electric fields to liquid crystal elastomers for actuation and 3-D deformation

Nov. 18, 2021

Hayden Fowler, a graduate student in Gallogly Professor Timothy White’s Responsive and Programmable Materials Group, is the first author on a research paper published in Advanced Materials concerning the temperature-independent electrical actuation of liquid crystal elastomers (LCEs), which are soft, stimuli-responsive materials with potential applications in soft robotics, artificial muscles and more.

Christine Hrenya

Hrenya recognized as Fellow of the American Physical Society

Nov. 17, 2021

Professor Christine Hrenya was selected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) this year “for key advancements in the fundamental understanding of granular matter and multiphase systems via a combination of theory, experiments and simulations,” according to the official citation. Fellow selections are an exclusive honor, limited to no more than one half of one percent of APS membership.

Nicole Day in blue shirt with blue background

Day awarded Teets Family Endowed Doctoral Fellowship for work in nanotechnology

Nov. 16, 2021

Nicole Day, a third-year graduate student in the Shields Lab, is the 2021-2022 recipient of the Teets Family Endowed Doctoral Fellowship. The fellowship provides $15,000 a year for two years to support deserving students working in the nanotechnology field.

Kristi Anseth

Kristi S. Anseth Receives AIChE’s Founders Award for 2021

Nov. 9, 2021

The recipient of the 2021 Founders Award is Kristi S. Anseth, Distinguished Professor and Tisone Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the University of Colorado at Boulder (CU-Boulder). Dr. Anseth is being lauded for her “seminal contributions to the application of foundational aspects of chemical engineering to the design of advanced biomaterials, hybrid medical devices, and bionanoscale-based processes.”

Jiajie Huo in plaid blue and grey shirt

Postdoc Seminar Series: Jiajie Huo

Nov. 8, 2021

Jiajie Huo, Postdoctoral Associate – Medlin Lab Tuesday, Nov. 30, 2021 2:45 p.m., JSCBB A108 "Catalyst Development for Aqueous-phase Biomass Conversion and Gas-phase Methane Activation" Seminar Abstract Catalysis plays a crucial role in the production of energy, fuels and chemicals. In this talk, I will first discuss my previous graduate...

Kent Warren in striped tie and blue shirt

Postdoc Seminar Series: Kent Warren

Nov. 8, 2021

The conversion of intermittent solar radiation into storable and transportable chemical fuels can enable access to sustainable feedstocks and dispatchable sources of power, regardless of geographic location. Of particular interest is technologies that facilitate the endothermic dissociation of water and carbon dioxide while utilizing heat that is obtained via concentrating optics and/or renewable sources of electricity.