Profssor Michael F Toney

Toney and international team develop method for observing ion movement in batteries

Nov. 10, 2020

An international team of researchers including Professor Michael Toney has developed a new technique for precisely tracking the movement of ions within batteries, a discovery that may have far-reaching impacts on how safe and efficient batteries are developed.

H. Scott Fogler headshot

Alumnus H. Scott Fogler earns Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year honors

Nov. 5, 2020

Department alumnus Professor H. Scott Fogler (PhDChemEngr'65) was recently named a Michigan Distinguished Professor of the Year by the Michigan Association of State Universities, a prestigious honor among faculty members working in public university undergraduate education.

Megan English

English of Team Weimer earns Ryland Family Graduate Fellowship

Oct. 14, 2020

Megan English, a graduate student in the Team Weimer Chemical and Biological Engineering research group, is the recipient of the Ryland Family Graduate Fellowship for the 2020-21 academic year.

Brian Aguado in grey suit with Flatirons background

Aguado of the Anseth Research Group earns Outstanding Postdoc Award

Oct. 13, 2020

Brian Aguado, a postdoctoral researcher in the Anseth Research Group, is the recipient of this year’s Outstanding Postdoc Award, which recognizes postdoctoral associates and fellows at CU Boulder for their research, communication and leadership accomplishments.

Christine Hrenya

Hrenya to receive Shell Thomas Baron Award in Fluid-Particle Systems

Oct. 1, 2020

Professor Christine Hrenya is the recipient of the AIChE 2020 Shell Thomas Baron Award in Fluid-Particle Systems, an award that recognizes a researcher who has made a significant impact in the fluid particle systems field or related subjects.

Jennie Smoly Caruthers Biotechnology Building on East Campus

ChBE jumps to #19 overall in U.S. News and World Report rankings for undergraduate chemical engineering programs

Sept. 24, 2020

The CU Boulder Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering is now ranked #19 overall in the U.S. News and World Report Best College Rankings for the Best Undergraduate Chemical Engineering Program category for 2021. In 2020, the department was ranked at #25 overall.

A screen capture of John Falconer's How to Study: Part 1, education title slide. Flatiron mountains are seen behind the CU Boulder campus

LearnChemE founders celebrate 10 years of chemical engineering education with a new NSF grant

Sept. 23, 2020

Ten years ago, a few professors had a question: what if chemical and biological engineering students and instructors could get free, in-depth, high-quality instruction on hundreds of subjects within the field any time they wanted?

J Will Medlin wearing blue shirt and safety glasses

“Fine-tuning” catalyst performance for sustainable hydrogen peroxide synthesis

Sept. 17, 2020

New research from Professor J. Will Medlin and collaborators at three other institutions points to a new, inexpensive and sustainable method of synthesizing hydrogen peroxide.

Christine Hrenya

Hrenya to discuss learning from the unexpected via Jacobus van ‘t Hoff lecture on Sept. 17

Sept. 11, 2020

Professor Christine M. Hrenya will deliver the prestigious Jacobus van ’t Hoff lecture for the TU Delft Process Technology Institute on Sept. 17. She joins a cadre of accomplished, notable researchers—including Nobel laureates—who have been honored with the lecture appointment.

An intestinal organoid

New paper explores organoid growth and development, illustrates new route for control

Sept. 10, 2020

Max Yavitt, a graduate student in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, is the first author on a new paper in Advanced Materials focusing on organoid development. We asked Yavitt about the research problems the work explores, his time with the Anseth Lab and why this is such an important and growing area of research–particularly for the field of medicine.