Kristi Anseth

Kristi Anseth Elected Vice President of Materials Research Society for 2015, President for 2016

Oct. 20, 2014

Distinguished Professor Kristi Anseth was recently elected to the 3-year president line of the Materials Research Society (MRS) by its 16,000 global members. Anseth will serve as MRS Vice President in 2015, MRS President in 2016, and MRS Immediate Past President in 2017. As president, Anseth will lead the MRS...

Richard Noble in lab

Rich Noble Wins 2015 ACS Separation Science and Technology Award

July 21, 2014

The American Chemical Society has named Professor Richard Noble the 2015 ACS Separations Science and Technology Award winner. This award recognizes the development of novel applications with major impacts and/or the practical implementations of modern advancements in the field of separation science and technology. Noble is noted for his world-leading...


Dan Schwartz Named an ACS Fellow

July 14, 2014

The American Chemical Society has named ChBE Department Chair Dan Schwartz a 2014 ACS Fellow . Professor Schwartz is being recognized for his leadership in the Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry ; service as a Senior Editor of Langmuir ; ACS symposium organization; and innovative research developing and applying...

Kristi Anseth

Kristi Anseth to Receive AIChE Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Division Award

July 8, 2014

The 2014 AIChE Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering (FPBE) Division Award will be presented to Distinguished Professor Kristi Anseth this coming November at the Annual AIChE meeting in Atlanta. The award recognizes an individual's outstanding chemical engineering contribution in the food, pharmaceutical and/or bioengineering field. Contributions can be of a fundamental...


Will Medlin Named Denver Business Challenge Endowed Professor

June 30, 2014

Associate Professor Will Medlin was recently named a Denver Business Challenge Endowed Professor . This endowed professorship was established over 20 years ago by a group of Colorado business leaders whose gifts were matched by the University of Colorado. A Colorado Center for Biorefining and Biofuels (C2B2) Site Director, Medlin...

Maria Toscano-Leary

Maria Toscano-Leary Receives 2014 Employee Recognition Award

April 24, 2014

Electronics engineer Maria Toscano-Leary was chosen as the winner of the 2014 ChBE Employee Recognition Award. Toscano-Leary works with students and faculty to design, build, and repair electronic instruments for research and educational purposes.

Tyler Martin and Matt McBride

Tyler Martin and Matt McBride Win NSF Graduate Fellowships

May 24, 2013

Congratulations to graduate students Tyler Martin and Matt McBride, both of whom have received prestigious NSF Graduate Fellowships. Both were NSF-REU students in our department before joining ChBE as graduate students. Tyler is advised by Arthi Jayaraman while Matt is advised by Chris Bowman.

Jen Gifford

Jen Gifford Receives April 2013 Staff Appreciation Award

May 24, 2013

Congratulations to Assistant to the Chair Jen Gifford, who received the April 2013 Staff Appreciation Award from the College of Engineering and Applied Science.

Katie Lewis

Katie Lewis Receives Whitaker Scholarship

May 24, 2013

Katie Lewis, a graduate student in the Anseth lab, received a 2013 Whitaker International Program Summer Grant to work for two months this summer with Professor Justin Cooper-White's group at the Australian Institute for Bioengineering & Nanotechnology at the University of Queensland in Brisbane, Australia. Katie will be studying photodegradable...

Undergrads Win at Research Symposium

May 23, 2013

Congratulations to department undergraduates Taylor Kennedy, Anna McLeland and Kayla Weston who won awards at the Discovery Learning Research Symposium in April.