Keesha Erickson

Keesha Erickson Wins Dean’s Graduate Student Research Grant Award

Dec. 7, 2015

PhD candidate Keesha Erickson won a competitive 2016 Dean’s Graduate Student Research Grant Award for her proposal, “Discovery of novel drug targets for eradication of multi-drug resistant infectious pathogens.” Dean’s Awards are sponsored by the Graduate School and support the research, scholarship and creative work of graduate students from all...

Jace Blackburn

Jace Blackburn Wins Genentech Outstanding Student Award

Dec. 7, 2015

The winner of the Genentech Outstanding Student Award is CBEN junior Jace Blackburn . This annual award recognizes one CU chemical and biological engineering student and includes both $2500 and a summer internship at Genentech’s San Francisco location. As a student research assistant in CU Denver’s Department of Neurology, Blackburn...

Christine Hrenya

Christine Hrenya Appointed Associate Editor for the AIChE Journal

Dec. 4, 2015

Professor Christine Hrenya has been appointed an Associate Editor of the AIChE Journal . This high-impact, peer-reviewed monthly journal covers groundbreaking research in nine chemical engineering and related fields. Hrenya brings with her experience from her 3 years (2013-2015) as an editor for Aerosol Science and Technology . Her new...

Vanessa Witte

Vanessa Witte Receives 3rd Place in AIChE Poster Competition

Nov. 16, 2015

Vanessa Witte was awarded 3rd place in the 2015 Undergraduate Student Poster Competition at the AIChE Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City last week. Her poster was titled, “Hydrogen Fuel Production Using Reactive Metal Oxides in a Solar Thermal Water Splitting (STWS) Cycle.” A researcher in the Weimer group, Witte...

Tariq Jamil

Tariq Jamil Receives TMS Grant to Present at MS&T Conference

Nov. 13, 2015

PhD student Tariq Jamil received a travel grant from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) to present multiple talks at the fall 2015 Materials Science & Technology (MS&T) conference in Columbus, Ohio. At the conference, Jamil spoke on the “Mechanism of Molecular Interaction of Superplasticizer Oligomers with Hydrated Cement...

Al Weimer

Al Weimer Wins 2015 AIChE Research Excellence in Sustainable Engineering Award

Nov. 12, 2015

As recognition of his transformational contributions to the production of renewable/ sustainable hydrogen by splitting water using concentrated sunlight, Professor Al Weimer was given the 2015 AIChE Research Excellence in Sustainable Engineering Award . This award is presented annually to a sustainability leader who has made significant technical contributions relative...

Josh Mabry

Alum Josh Mabry Selected as Finalist for EMD Millipore's 2015 Life Science Award in Bioseparations

Oct. 8, 2015

Joshua Mabry (PhD ChemEngr ’15) was selected as one of four finalists for EMD Millipore’s 2015 Life Science Award in Bioseparations. EMD Millipore instituted this new award to recognize the innovation the academic community brings to the life science industry. Award finalists were chosen based on four criteria: level of...

Andrew Weidner

Andrew Weidner Receives Astronaut Scholarship Foundation Award

Oct. 6, 2015

Senior chemical engineering student Andrew Weidner was the recipient of a prestigious Astronaut Scholarship Foundation Award . The scholarship, which includes a $10,000 check, was won by only two CU students this year. Former astronaut Gary Payton, who flew a Discovery mission in 1985, presented the awards on October 2...

Will Medlin

Will Medlin Receives 2015 Dean’s Outstanding Research Award

Sept. 14, 2015

The 2015 Dean’s Outstanding Research Award , based on excellence in research as assessed by annual evaluations, was bestowed upon Associate Professor Will Medlin . This college-wide honor includes a $5000 discretionary fund. Professors Dan Schwartz and Rich Noble were the recipients of the Research Award in 2014 and 2013,...

Kristi Anseth

Kristi Anseth Named a 2016 ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar

Sept. 14, 2015

Distinguished Professor Kristi Anseth is the recipient of a 2016 ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award . Consisting of a $40,000 unrestricted research grant, a $5,000 award and a certificate, this honor is given to recognize and encourage excellence in organic chemistry. In addition to conducting internationally-recognized research on biomaterials,...