Published: July 8, 2014

Kristi AnsethThe 2014 AIChE Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering (FPBE) Division Award will be presented to Distinguished Professor Kristi Anseth this coming November at the Annual AIChE meeting in Atlanta.

The award recognizes an individual's outstanding chemical engineering contribution in the food, pharmaceutical and/or bioengineering field. Contributions can be of a fundamental nature and/or of practical significance; they may have been made in industry, government, an academic settings, or with other organizations.

Anseth is being lauded for her outstanding contributions in the development of novel photo-cross linkable biomaterials for regenerative medicine and tissue engineering applications and her leadership in the application of chemical engineering principles to biomedicine.

Her extraordinary research contributions have been recognized by numerous honors including election to all three National Academies: the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, and the Institute of Medicine. In 2005, Anseth was appointed to HHMI as an Assistant Investigator; she is the first engineer to receive this honor. She has received AIChE’s Colburn and Professional Progress Awards, the Society for Biomaterials Clemson Award for Basic Research, and the National Science Foundation’s Alan T. Waterman Award, which is given to the country’s top scientist under age 35. Other important honors include the ASEE Curtis W. McGraw Award, the Materials Research Society’s Outstanding Young Investigator Award, and a Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award. Anseth has been also elected as a Materials Research Society Fellow.