Free and open to the public, the Best Should Teach event, co-hosted by the Center for Teaching and LearningSchool of Education, and College of Arts and Sciences, honors CU Boulder faculty members, K-12 teachers from the School of Education’s partner school districts and Lead Graduate Teachers in the CTL's Graduate Teacher Program with Best Should Teach Gold and Silver Awards.

The Best Should Teach Gold Awardees were selected for their embodiment of the beliefs, behaviors, and skills of exemplary teachers. The late, lifelong educator Lindley Stiles and his wife Marguerite Stiles established the Best Should Teach Initiative in 1996 to celebrate excellence in teaching, and Stiles’ inspiring motto is inscribed on the Lucile Berkeley Buchanan Building:

"To those who come, I leave the flame! Hold it as high as you can reach. If a better world is your aim, all must agree: The Best Should Teach."

2023-2024 Gold Awardees

Nabilah Carlon, Chemistry
Alex Dietrich, Lockheed Martin Engineering Management Program
Deena Gumina, School of Education
Eyal Rivlin, Hebrew Language
Annjeanette Wiese, Humanities

Lori Hattendorf, Boulder Valley School District
Karen Mancusi, St. Vrain School District
Vickie Salazar, Adams 12 Five Star Schools


Sarah Avila, Economics
Melissa Braaten, School of Education
Laurie Gries, Media, Communication and Information
Nii Armah Sowah, Theatre & Dance
Ross Taylor, Journalism
Bethany Wilcox, Physics

Tara Kawalec, STEM Launch K-8, Adams 12
Vera Moreno-Hamm, Columbine Elementary School, Boulder Valley
Emily Fiebig, Northridge Elementary, St. Vrain


Julie Andrew, School of Education
Amanda Carrico, Environmental Studies
Kira Hall, Linguistics 
Branden Steinmetz, Music
Jennifer Stratford, Psychology and Neuroscience
Nishant Upadhyay, Ethnic Studies


Allison Atteberry, Assistant Professor, Research and Evaluation Methodology, School of Education
Carol Conzelman, Senior Instructor, Global Studies Residential Academic Program
Kristie Soares, Assistant Professor, Women and Gender Studies 
Deborah Palmer, Professor, Equity, Bilingualism and Biliteracy, School of Education


Mona Farrag Attwa, Instructor, Arabic, Asian Languages & Civilizations
Emmanuel David, Assistant Professor, Women and Gender Studies
Wendy Glenn, Professor, Literacy Studies, School of Education
Erika Randall, Associate Professor, Theatre & Dance
Kate Semsar, Assistant Director for STEM Education and Instructor, Miramontes Arts & Sciences Program


Janet Y. Tsai, Instructor, Mechanical Engineering
Tamara Meneghini, Associate Professor, Theatre & Dance
Bethy Leonardi, Assistant Professor, Educational Foundations, Policy, and Practice, School of Education
Jenny Knight, Associate Professor, Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology 
Teresa E. Foley, Senior Instructor, Integrative Physiology


Tarek Sammakia, Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Celeste Montoya, Associate Professor, Women and Gender Studies
William McGinley, Associate Professor, Literacy Studies, School of Education
Priscilla Craven, Senior Instructor, French and Italian


Susan Jurow, Professor, Educational Psychology & Learning Sciences, School of Education
Roseanna M. Neupauer, Associate Professor, Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering 
Christopher Braider, Professor, French 


Elizabeth Dutro, Professor, Education
Eric Stade, Professor, Mathematics


Kathy Escamilla, Professor, Equity, Bilingualism & Biliteracy, School of Education
Margaret Asirvatham, Senior Instructor and Director of General Chemistry, Chemistry
William Kuskin, Professor, English
Polly McLean, Associate Professor, Media Studies


Diane Conlin, Associate Professor, Classics
Michael Eisenberg, Professor, Computer Science
Michele Moses, Professor, Educational Foundations, Policy and Practice, School of Education


Harihar Rajaram, Professor, Civil, Environmental, and Architectural Engineering
Jim Palmer, Professor, Film Studies
Alison Jaggar, College Professor of Distinction, Philosophy and Women and Gender Studies
Kris Gutiérrez, Professor, Literacy and Learning Sciences, School of Education


Anne Costain, Political Science
Ruben Donato, School of Education
Daniel Liston, School of Education
Marianne Wesson, School of Law 


Claudia Mills, Professor, Philosophy
Douglas Duncan, Senior Instructor, Astronomy
Danica Trifunovic, Instructor, French & Italian 


Elspeth Dusinberre, Associate Professor, Classics
Michael Klymkowsky, Professor, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology 


Michael Dubson, Senior Instructor, Physics
Bud Coleman, Professor, Theatre
Clayton Lewis, Professor, Computer Science
Diane Sieber, Director, Herbst Program of Humanities in Engineering


Kristi Anseth, Tisone Professor and HHMI Investigator, Chemical & Biological Engineering
Brian Argrow, Professor, Director, Research and Engineering Center for Unmanned Vehicles, Aerospace Engineering Sciences
Noah Finkelstein, Associate Professor of Physics Education Research, Physics
Valerie Otero, Assistant Professor, School of Education
Patrica Rankin, Associate Professor, Physics


Melinda Barlow, Associate Professor, Film Studies
Elisa L. Facio, Associate Professor, Ethnic Studies
Eric J. Juenke, Assistant Professor, Political Science
Steven Pollock, Associate Professor, Physics 


Adrian Del Caro, Associate Vice Chancellor for Graduate Education and Professor, German & Slavic Languages and Literatures
William M. King, Professor, Ethnic Studies
John P. Powelson, Professor Emeritus, Economics
Carl E. Wieman, Distinguished Professor, Physics 


Martin Bickman, Professor, English
James Downton, Professor Emeritus, Sociology
Donald Weatherley, Associate Professor, Psychology
Dennis Van Gerven, Professor, Anthropology
Eloise Timmons, Boulder educator 


Susan Clarke, Professor, Political Science
John Cumalat, Chair and Professor of Distinction, Physics 


Lindley J. Stiles, Professor Emeritus
Richard Byyny, Chancellor 

1999 & 2000 (keynote lecture event held; no awards given)