Inclusive Excellence in Aerospace Engineering Sciences

The Ann and H.J. Smead Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences (AES) recognizes that engineering fields, specifically aerospace engineering, have historically been unwelcoming and hostile spaces for many people. AES is steadfast in our commitment to continuously facilitating equitable change in our department and beyond. We are wholly committed to creating and maintaining an environment with increased inclusion, diversity, justice, and equity, where all students, faculty, and staff feel a sense of belonging, are welcomed, and valued.

In 2020, the Smead Aerospace Department created, for the first time, a departmental Inclusive Culture Committee (ICC) that  is composed of faculty, staff and students. The goal of this committee is to activate AES and drive efforts towards fulfilling the department’s vision for:

  • Building a department culture characterized by a deep sense of belonging based on a strong commitment to respect and care for all members of the CU Boulder community, especially for those who come from communities that are underrepresented and marginalized at CU Boulder;
  • Hiring, leveraging and retaining all of the diversity of faculty, staff, and students who reflect the global society our students will lead; and
  • Ensuring a curriculum that fosters intercultural competence and prepares critical thinkers who innovate through embracing multiple perspectives.

As part of these efforts, the AES ICC will create an annual report on the department’s efforts toward inclusive excellence, that will be made publicly available on this website.