Smead Scholars at the University of Colorado Boulder represent the best and brightest minds in aerospace. They are nationally-recognized for their research and character, with alumni spanning the nation both geographically and across the aerospace sector.

Each year, two incoming PhD students are selected for this honor, which provides financial support, academic enrichment, and exclusive networking opportunities.

As a Smead Scholar, you will be a member of a supportive community on campus and across the nation throughout your studies and career, and take part in unique experiences that help you grow professionally and personally. Being a Smead Scholar is a journey of pushing through boundaries and building character to become a future leader of the field.

There is not a separate application for being a Smead Scholar when applying for PhD studies in our department. After the Fall PhD applicant submission window closes, Smead Scholar Finalists are selected from those applicants by Smead Program faculty based on a combination of factors including academic achievement, research experience, and demonstrated leadership skills. Finalists are contacted by the end of January.