Published: Jan. 16, 2024 By
Hanspeter Schaub

Hanspeter Schaub is being recognized by the American Astronautical Society.

AAS is honoring Schaub as the 2024 Dirk Brouwer Award for "transformational work in the emerging field of charged spacecraft formation flight and control and for sustained and outstanding contributions to astrodynamics research, application, and teaching."

Schaub is a professor in and chair of the Ann and H.J. Smead Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder.

He is an expert in the field of attitude dynamics, relative motion dynamics, charged astrodynamics and autonomous spacecraft tasking with neural networks. Schaub is a prolific researcher, as author or co-author of more than 200 journal papers and a popular textbook that is now in its fourth edition. He also runs a large laboratory, and is currently advising more than 20 doctoral and master’s students.

Schaub has been recognized multiple times for excellence in research and education, including the 2023 Hazel Barnes Prize from CU Boulder, the university's highest distinction for faculty; the 2020 American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics Rocky Mountain Section Collegiate Educator of the Year Award; and the 2017 AIAA J. Leland Atwood Award.

He has been a member of the CU Boulder aerospace faculty since 2007 and holds a bachelor's, master's, and PhD in aerospace engineering, all from Texas A&M University.

Schaub is the fourth CU Boulder aerospace faculty member to receive the Brouwer distinction, following Dan Scheeres in 2012, George Born in 1998, and Robert Culp in 1993.

He will be officially presented with the award at the 2024 AAS/AIAA Astrodynamics Specialist Conference in August in Denver.