Published: Aug. 2, 2021 By

John EvansJohn Evans has been named 2021 Educator of the Year by the Rocky Mountain Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

Evans, an assistant professor and the Jack Rominger Faculty Fellow in the Ann and H.J. Smead Department of Aerospace Engineering Sciences, is an expert in fluid dynamics and fluid-structure interaction. He teaches courses on aerodynamics and finite elements modeling at the undergraduate and graduate level.

He joined CU Boulder as a faculty member in 2013.

The AIAA RMS will recognize Evans and other 2021 award winners at a banquet at the Denver Museum of Nature and Science on August 13.

Numerous CU Boulder professors have been recognized by the AIAA RMS over the last decade. Previous recipients of the Educator of the Year Award include Hanspeter Schaub in 2020, Alireza Doostan in 2015, and Jean Koster in 2011. In 2020, Allie Anderson was also recognized as their Young Engineer of the Year.