Published: April 12, 2024

The Boulder Faculty Assembly is pleased to invite members of the campus community to attend this year’s in-person ceremony in celebration of the recipients of the 2024 BFA Excellence Awards. The BFA Excellence Awards recognize outstanding contributions by faculty in the areas of teaching; service and leadership; and research, scholarly and creative work.

The awards, which are peer-nominated, are presented in three categories. The 2023 BFA Excellence Award categories and winners are:

Excellence in Leadership and Service

  • Valerie McKenzie, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
  • Alastair Norcross, Philosophy

If you go

Who: Faculty, staff, students
What: BFA Excellence Awards, 2023 Hazel Barnes Prize faculty address, reception
When: Thursday, April 18, 4:30–6:30 p.m.
Where: University Memorial Center, Glenn Miller Ballroom

RSVP by April 16

Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work

  • Jason Boardman, Institute of Behavioral Science (IBS) & Sociology
  • Joost de Gouw, Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences (CIRES) & Chemistry
  • Rebecca Safran, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Excellence in Teaching

  • Colene Robinson, Colorado Law
  • Cosetta Seno, French & Italian
  • Bethany Wilcox, Physics

In addition to honoring this year’s winners, the ceremony on April 19 will feature a faculty address by 2023 Hazel Barnes Prize awardee Hanspeter Schaub. A reception will follow, allowing attendees to share personal congratulations with each of the award winners.

RSVPs are requested by Tuesday, April 16, but walk-up attendees are welcome.

The campus created the BFA Excellence Awards in the early 1980s to recognize outstanding work and concerted effort in advancing the mission of the university and the academy at large.

These prestigious awards are made possible through financial support from the chancellor, enabling the BFA to grant each recipient a $5,000 monetary award.

The Hazel Barnes Prize is the largest and most prestigious single faculty award funded by CU Boulder. It was established in 1991 by former Chancellor James Corbridge in honor of Philosophy Professor Emerita Hazel Barnes to recognize “the enriching interrelationship between teaching and research.”

Hazel Barnes, one of our campus’s most accomplished scholars, received a BFA Excellence in Teaching Award in 1983.