About the Awards

The BFA Excellence Awards specifically recognize outstanding work and a concerted effort to make advances in the academy. The Chancellor provides financial support for these prestigious awards and a ceremony in the spring recognizes the winners and features a keynote by the Hazel Barnes Awardee for that year. This year's award amount will be $5000. 

All members of the Boulder Faculty Senate, are eligible to be nominated however, the selection process gives preference to nominees who have been with the University of Colorado for at least five years. Additionally, nominated faculty must be in good standing with the University in order to be considered. Although faculty may receive the award for a given category only once, they are eligible to receive awards in either of the other two categories in different years. Nomination packets that are not selected the year of submission, are automatically submitted for one additional year with approval of the nominator/nominating committee. 

The BFA will grant awards in each of the following areas:

2023 Excellence Awards Dates and Details

  • Nominations Open: Tuesday, November 1, 2022
  • Nominations Close: Tuesday, February 21, 2023*
  • Winners Announced: Tuesday, March 14, 2023

2023 Excellence Awards Ceremony featuring Hazel Barnes Awardee keynote speaker Mark Ablowitz, Applied Math will take place on Wednesday, April 19, 2023 at 4:30 p.m. in the UMC Ballroom


*Nominators or nominating committees are advised to submit packets several days in advance for review in order to make revisions prior to the deadline.