Published: May 4, 2022

Provost Russell Moore and Boulder Faculty Assembly Chair Tiffany Beechy today announced the formation of the Faculty Salary Procedures Working Group (FSPWG). 

The move enacts the commitment Moore and Chief Operating Officer Patrick O’Rourke made following the implementation of the Colorado Equal Pay for Equal Work Act (CEPEWA) in January to take action to examine possible sources of structural salary inequities for faculty and staff, and the specific commitment Moore made in March to involve shared governance and faculty from the colleges and schools in the effort.

“This is a working partnership with faculty to examine policies and procedures used on campus for faculty annual merit evaluations, salary allocations, promotion increments, retention offer practices and other merit evaluation and salary allocation processes specific to faculty,” said Moore. 

Beechy said BFA’s co-sponsorship of the effort is critical to its credibility and success. She noted that the members of the working group were nominated by their deans, one of their peers, the faculty governance group of their school or college or the BFA for this service, in recognition of their expertise in the faculty merit pay or salary allocation processes at CU Boulder. 

“The involvement of shared governance reflects faculty responsibility for merit review, as well as the fact that equity is everyone’s concern, administration and faculty alike. We will only address our longstanding issues together,” Beechy said. 

The working group is expected to engage campus stakeholders in completing an inventory of existing unit-level faculty merit evaluation and salary procedures and to research successful models. It will make this inventory available to units across campus and may issue recommendations and guidelines regarding possible equity-enhancing practices in collaboration with individual units and campuswide faculty governance. The work will occur within the context of University of Colorado system and Board of Regents policy on faculty merit evaluation and faculty salary (PS 5008, Regent Policy 5.C.4, Regent Policy 11.B.1 and 11.B.2).

Moore said the working group met on April 29 to get acquainted and will convene, on average, biweekly during the fall with his office providing staff support to assist with inventory and research tasks. 

Human Resources is conducting a similar review of campus compensation practices for staff, with further information slated to be available later this fall.  

The members of the working group are:

  • Ken Anderson, professor and chair, Department of Computer Science, College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS)
  • Russell Cropanzano, professor, organizational leadership and information analytics, Leeds School of Business
  • Tracy Ferrell, teaching associate professor, Program for Writing and Rhetoric, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Teresa Foley, teaching professor and associate chair of undergraduate affairs, Department of Integrative Physiology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Emily Greenwood, instructor, Program in Environmental Design
  • David Hekman, associate professor, organizational leadership and information analytics, Leeds School of Business
  • Susan Jurow, associate dean for diversity, equity and community engagement and professor of learning sciences and human development, School of Education
  • Margot Kaminski, associate professor, Colorado Law
  • Daria Kotys-Schwartz, teaching professor, Design Center Colorado co-director, Idea Forge director, Department of Mechanical Engineering, CEAS
  • Donald McKinney professor, College of Music
  • Julia Staffel, associate professor, Department of Philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Tin Tin Su, professor, Department of Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Tammy Sumner, director, Institute of Cognitive Science, professor, computer and cognitive science
  • Steve Vanderheiden, professor, Department of Political Science, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Philip White, assistant professor, University Libraries
  • Erin Willis, associate professor, Department of Advertising, Public Relations and Media Design, College of Media, Communication and Information