Published: March 29, 2022

The Boulder Faculty Assembly is pleased invite members of the campus community to attend this year’s in-person ceremony in celebration of the recipients of the 2022 BFA Excellence Awards. The BFA Excellence Awards recognize outstanding contributions by faculty in the areas of teaching, service and leadership, and research and creative work.

If you go

Who: Faculty, staff, students
What: BFA Excellence Awards featuring faculty address by the 2021 Hazel Barnes Prize winner, reception to follow
When: Monday, April 11, 4:30–6 p.m.
Where: UMC, Glenn Miller Ballroom

RSVP by end of the day Tuesday, April 5

The awards, which are peer-nominated, are presented in three categories. The 2022 BFA Excellence Award categories and winners are:

Excellence in Leadership and Service

  • Janet Casagrand, Integrative Physiology
  • Susan Thomas, Musicology
  • Wendy Young, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work

  • Marcia Douglas, English
  • Michael Hermele, Physics
  • Laura Michaelis, Linguistics

Excellence in Teaching and Pedagogy

  • Caroline Conzelman, Global Studies RAP
  • Rachael Deagman Simonetta, English
  • June Gruber, Psychology and Neuroscience

In addition to honoring this year’s winners, the ceremony on April 11 will feature a faculty address by 2021 Hazel Barnes Prize awardee Barbara Demmig-Adams. Since Excellence Award recipients from 2020 and 2021 were not able to participate in an in-person event, they will also be acknowledged at this year’s ceremony. A reception allowing for attendees to share personal congratulations with each of the award winners will follow. 

RSVPs are requested by end of the day on Tuesday, April 5, but walk-up attendees are welcome.

The campus created the BFA Excellence Awards in the early 1980s to recognize outstanding work and concerted effort in advancing the mission of the university and the academy at large. All members of the Boulder faculty, including instructors, are eligible for nomination.

These prestigious awards are made possible through financial support from the chancellor, enabling the BFA to grant each recipient a $4,000 monetary award.

The Hazel Barnes Prize is the largest and most prestigious single faculty award funded by CU Boulder. It was established in 1991 by former Chancellor James Corbridge in honor of Philosophy Professor Emerita Hazel Barnes to recognize “the enriching interrelationship between teaching and research.”

Hazel Barnes, one of our campus’s most accomplished scholars, received a BFA Excellence in Teaching Award in 1983.