Published: June 24, 2019

CU Boulder’s Committee on the History and Philosophy of Science is pleased to host the annual conference of the International Association for the Philosophy of Time this year. The chair of CHPS, and the organizer of the conference, is Prof. Heather Demarest, Assistant Professor of Philosophy specializing in philosophy of science, metaphysics, and philosophy of physics---particularly the ways in which relativity and quantum mechanics ought to inform our ideas about causation, personal identity, time, and space.

The conference topics include the relationship between time and physics (special relativity, general relativity, quantum mechanics); time and experience (psychology and introspection); the logical nature and structure of time itself (A-theory, B-theory, etc.) The participants are leading philosophers of physics and they hail from all over the world, including Australia, New Zealand, South Korea, Italy, England, Ireland, Switzerland, and of course, from all over the US.

The conference is sponsored by the Committee on the History and Philosophy of Science, the Foster Endowment, the Research and Innovation Office, the President's Fund for the Humanities, and the Philosophy of Time Society. Every year, CU's Committee for the History and Philosophy of Science brings distinguished speakers to CU, holds a conference each year, and hosts informal, interdisciplinary talks throughout the year for CU faculty, grads, and local scientists (e.g., from NIST, NOAA, etc.) to share work and develop ideas concerning the history and philosophy of science.

More details about the conference can be found here: