13th Annual Rocky Mountain Ethics Congress (RoME), August 13-16

Aug. 5, 2020

The 13th annual Rocky Mountain Ethics Congress (RoME) will be held remotely August 13-16, 2020. Click here for a full schedule! For passwords to the different Zoom rooms, please email Alastair Norcross ( norcross@colorado.edu ), Ben Hale ( bhale@colorado.edu ), Alex Beard ( Alexander.Beard@colorado.edu ), or Sam Director ( Samuel.Director@colorado.edu...

Online Workshops for Hybrid and Online Teaching featured in Daily Nous

July 22, 2020

Julia Staffel , Assistant Professor of Philosophy, and Zak Kopeikin , lecturer and a recent graduate of our PhD program, have recently conducted four online workshops on hybrid and online teaching, sharing what they have learned about using technology for online teaching. The sessions are recorded and are available for...

Philosophy Students Win Prestigious Fellowships

May 13, 2020

Kelsey Grant wins Udall Scholarship Kelsey Grant, a junior who is double majoring in political science and philosophy, has won a Udall Scholarship. She advocates for climate change policies and environmental stewardship. The Udall Scholarship rewards leadership, public service and a commitment to the environment and Native American issues. https://www.colorado.edu/today/2020/05/12/cu-boulder-junior-lands-prestigious-udall-scholarship...

Graduation Spring 2020 Website Now Available

May 8, 2020

The Department is pleased to announce its virtual Spring 2020 Graduation website, available at https://www.colorado.edu/philosophy/graduation-spring-2020 , featuring a list of graduates, graduate awards, and speeches from faculty members. Congratulations to all our graduates!

Professor Alison Jaggar to Retire

April 27, 2020

The Philosophy Department announces the retirement of Professor Alison Jaggar as of August 31 st , 2020. Professor Alison Jaggar is one of the foremost political philosophers in the US, and is widely credited with having been a pioneer in the field of feminist philosophy and the philosophy of gender,...

Professor Graeme Forbes to Retire

April 27, 2020

The Department of Philosophy announces the retirement of Professor Graeme Forbes as of May 31, 2020. Professor Forbes is widely regarded as one of the most prominent recent analytic philosophers working in metaphysics and philosophy of language. He earned his D.Phil. in Philosophy from Oxford in 1980, writing a thesis...

CU Philosopher Trying to Meet Peter Singer’s Fundraising Challenge – And You Can Help

April 22, 2020

See the details here: http://dailynous.com/2020/04/22/boonin-singer-raising-funds-reduce-covid-19s-impact-poorer-countries/

Department Receives Major Gift

April 22, 2020

The Philosophy Department is thrilled to announce the establishment of the Paduano Family Endowed Scholarship Fund. We are enormously grateful to John Philip Paduano (’04 BA, Philosophy with distinction, CU Boulder) and Brooke Larson Carleton for establishing this scholarship for philosophy majors in our department. A $1,100 scholarship will be...

Morris Judd Prize Deadline Extended to April 10

April 2, 2020

The 2020 Morris Judd Undergraduate Essay Prize will be awarded to the best undergraduate essay submitted on any topic in the values area. The prize comes with a cash award of $500 as well as formal recognition of the honor at the Department’s spring commencement ceremony. The competition is open...

CU Philosophy Major Launches New "Complicated Cancer" Blog

March 10, 2020

Aspen Heidekrueger is a Colorado native who is currently a junior at CU Boulder. She is pursuing a bachelor's degree in philosophy and is interested in the study of ethics and metaphysics. Aspen is also a leukemia survivor who underwent three years of chemotherapy treatment during her high school career...