Published: Dec. 15, 2020

Babs ButtenfieldPRESS RELEASE
Embargoed for Tuesday, December 15, 2020

WASHINGTON, D.C….The American Association of Geographers (AAG) announced the recipients of its 2021 AAG Honors, the highest honors bestowed on its members. 

Distinguished Teaching Honors

Barbara “Babs” Buttenfield, University of Colorado-Boulder, for her career-long devotion to GIScience education. Buttenfield, who established one of the first campus curricula in GIScience, is renowned for her engaging teaching style, remarkable ability to explain complex concepts through example and metaphor, and skill at blending theory with technical skills. In a rapidly evolving field, she delivers courses that are at the cutting edge of GIScience. 

Since 1951, AAG Honors have been offered annually to recognize outstanding accomplishments by members in research and scholarship, teaching, education, service to the discipline, public service outside academe, and for lifetime achievement. The AAG Honors Committee is elected by the AAG membership and charged with making award recommendations for each category, with no more than two awards given in any one category. This year’s Honors Committee members are Julie A. Silva, University of Maryland College Park (Chair); Amy Glasmeier, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ronald Hagleman, III, Texas State University; Richard Kujawa, St. Michael's College; Andrew Sluyter, Louisiana State University; and Julie Winkler, Michigan State University.

For more than 100 years, The American Association of Geographers (AAG) has contributed to the advancement of geography. Our members from nearly 100 countries share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography, which they cultivate through the AAG's Annual Meeting, scholarly journals (Annals of the American Association of Geographers, ​ The Professional Geographer,​ the AAG Review of Books ​ and GeoHumanities)​, and the online AAG Newsletter. The AAG is a 501(c)3 nonprofit​organization founded in 1904. 

American Association of Geographers


To find out more about the 2021 AAG Honors recipients, visit this link. FOR INTERVIEWS OR INFORMATION, CONTACT Lisa Schamess, phone 202.234.1450, ext 1164 or