The following CU Boulder College of Engineering and Applied Science faculty have received the Gordon Prize, the National Academy of Engineering's highest honor for innovation in engineering and technology education:

frank barnes

Frank Barnes

Distinguished Professor in Electrical & Computer Engineering
Frank S. Barnes is the recipient of the 2004 Gordon Prize for pioneering an Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program (ITP) that produces leaders who bridge engineering, social sciences, and public policy. He joined the University of Colorado Boulder in 1959. In addition to co-founding the Interdisciplinary Telecommunications Program, he has taught in the areas of optical electronics, bioelectromagnetics, and optical communications. He has supervised more than 30 PhD and 200 MS thesis...
lawerence carlson

Lawrence Carlson

Mechanical Engineering
Lawrence E. Carlson, professor emeritus, received the NAE Gordon Prize for Innovation in Education in 2008. He began his teaching career at the University of Illinois at Chicago in 1971, after earning master’s and D.Eng. degrees in mechanical engineering from the University of California Berkeley. His doctoral thesis was on designing an upper-arm prosthesis with coordinated motion patterns, and he continued to work on rehabilitation engineering in Chicago, where he...
jacquelyn sullivan

Jacquelyn Sullivan

Tisone Co-Director, Integrated Teaching and Learning Program
Jacquelyn F. Sullivan is a founding co-director and director of K-12 Engineering Program for the Integrated Teaching and Learning Program at the University of Colorado Boulder. The program focuses on integrating hands-on engineering throughout the K-16 learning experience. Sullivan initiated the K-12 program, the goal of which is to make the world of engineering and technology come alive for about 2000 K-12 teachers and students annually through professional development workshops,...