What Is the Requirement?
Colorado state law requires that students who were assigned male at birth and are between the ages of 17 years, 9 months and 26 years old certify that they've registered with the U.S. Selective Service System before they're allowed to enroll in classes at a state-supported institution (Colorado Senate Bill 03-255).
- If you're between the ages of 17 years, 9 months and 18 years, please complete the form and indicate that you are not yet 18.
- If you're between the ages of 18 and 26, even if you're a conscientious objector, you must complete your registration (Colorado House Bill 1021, effective July 1, 1987).
For more information, see the Selective Service System's Who Needs to Register page.
What You Need To Do
To fulfill this requirement, two steps must be completed by the sixth Wednesday of the term. Failure to submit this form will result in a hold being placed on your account, preventing you from enrolling in classes. Conscientious objectors are still required to register with the U.S. Selective Service System.
Step One: Register with the U.S. Selective Service System
- Go to the Selective Service registration page.
- Scroll down, then complete and submit the registration form.
Step Two: Submit the Verification Form
- Follow this link to Buff Portal’s Selective Service card (you may be prompted to log in).*
- On the card, select "Tell CU you've registered."
- Complete and submit the Selective Service verification form.
If everything is in order, we'll remove this hold one business day after you complete step two.
*Note: If you have trouble accessing Buff Portal, try using a private or incognito browser window.