Call for Submissions: Morris Judd Undergraduate Essay Prize

Jan. 31, 2018

The 2018 Morris Judd Undergraduate Essay Prize will be awarded to the best undergraduate essay submitted on any topic in the values area. The prize comes with a cash award of $500 as well as formal recognition of the honor at the Department’s spring commencement ceremony. The competition is open...

Eleventh Annual Rocky Mountain Ethics Congress Call for Papers

Jan. 25, 2018

Paper submissions for the eleventh annual Rocky Mountain Ethics Conference (RoME) , to be held in Boulder August 9-12, 2018, are now open. Read submission guidelines and information about the conference here .

Julia Staffel and Brian Talbot to Join Department

Nov. 15, 2017

The Department is pleased to announce the appointment of Julia Staffel and Brian Talbot to the faculty. Currently at Washington University in St. Louis, they will join us in August 2018. They received their doctorates from the University of Southern California: Brian in 2009, Julia in 2013. Julia specializes in...

Mrs. Margot Crowe Planned Gift

Oct. 20, 2017

From the left: James White, Margot Crowe, Robert Shay, Timothy Orr, and Deb Coffin The Philosophy Department is extremely grateful to Mrs. Margot Crowe for a generous legacy gift she made this year in the name of her late husband, Prof. Charles Lawson Crowe (1928-2013), who was a professor in...

Alison Jaggar Inducted into American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Oct. 10, 2017

Congratulations to our colleague Professor Alison Jaggar, who was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences on October 7th, 2017, joining the likes of Thomas Jefferson, Charles Darwin, T.S. Eliot, Robert Oppenheimer, Willa Cather, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and more than 250 Nobel Laureates.

10th Annual AAMP Meeting in Boulder, September 8-10

Sept. 6, 2017

We are pleased to host the 10th annual meeting of the American Association of Mexican Philosophers this coming weekend, September 8-10, 2017. It's co-sponsored by our MAP chapter and the CVSP. All sessions will be held at HLMS 269. For a full schedule click here . For more information, please...

Visiting Student from Heinrich-Heine

Aug. 31, 2017

This Fall Semester, René Baston – a doctoral student from Heinrich-Heine University – will be visiting the Philosophy Dept. His visit is funded by a scholarship from the DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst). While in residence, he will be working on his doctoral dissertation on the nature of implicit attitudes,...

Adam Hosein To Northeastern University

July 17, 2017

Adam Hosein, Associate Professor in Philosophy, will be leaving us and going to Northeastern University in Boston as Associate Professor of Philosophy this fall. Prof. Hosein specializes in moral, political and legal philosophy, with a special interest in areas of international concern and issues relating to race and gender. He...

Mark Boespflug Wins Stahl Prize

May 10, 2017

PhD student Mark Boespflug has won the 2017 Stahl Prize. The Stahl Prize is given in memory of Professor Gary Stahl, who taught at CU from 1962 to 1996. It recognizes a graduate student who has made a significant contribution toward bringing the discipline of philosophy to bear on some...

Samuel Director Wins IHS Fellowship

May 8, 2017

PhD student Samuel Director has won a Humane Studies Fellowship from the Institute for Humane Studies for AY17-18.