Published: Feb. 18, 2020

The Boulder Faculty Assembly is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 BFA Excellence Awards. These awards recognize outstanding contributions by faculty in the areas of teaching, service and leadership, and research and creative work.

Reception cancellation

The Boulder Faculty Assembly has canceled the BFA Excellence Awards ceremony and reception scheduled on Tuesday, March 31, due to ongoing issues related to COVID-19. BFA apologizes for any inconvenience and will keep the public updated as plans on how celebrations for this year’s awardees develop.  

BFA appreciates everyone's patience as it navigates this unprecedented situation. Regular updates about the campus response to coronavirus and ways to protect yourself are available at

Please visit the Boulder Faculty Assembly Excellence Awards webpage for additional information.

The awards, which are peer-nominated, are presented in three categories. The 2020 BFA Excellence award categories and winners are:

Excellence in Leadership and Service

  • Silva Chang, Applied Mathematics
  • Vicki Hendrickson Grove, Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures
  • Celeste Montoya, Women and Gender Studies

Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work

  • Nils Halverson, Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences
  • Stefanie Mollborn, Sociology
  • Charles Musgrave, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Michelle Sauther, Anthropology

Excellence in Teaching and Pedagogy

  • David Brain, Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences
  • Andrew Cooperstock, Music
  • Heidi Day, Psychology and Neuroscience

The campus created the BFA Excellence Awards in the early 1980s to recognize outstanding work and concerted effort in advancing the mission of the university and the academy at large. All members of the CU Boulder faculty, including instructors, are eligible for nomination.

These prestigious awards are made possible through financial support from the chancellor, enabling the BFA to grant each recipient a $4,000 monetary award.

The Hazel Barnes Prize is the largest and most prestigious single faculty award funded by CU Boulder. It was established in 1991 by former Chancellor James Corbridge in honor of Philosophy Professor Emerita Hazel Barnes to recognize “the enriching interrelationship between teaching and research.”

Hazel Barnes, one of the campus’s most accomplished scholars, received a BFA Excellence in Teaching Award in 1983.