Why contact your department first? Your department should be your first contact because they'll set the guidelines and requirements for their honors students. Some departments require students to apply to pursue honors in the department (and be accepted) before the honors project can begin.  There is also the option of writing a more interdisciplinary thesis that is not tied to your major, called a General Honors thesis.  Students considering a General Honors thesis project should start here.

What is the Honors Council? The Honors Council is a body of faculty made up of representatives from each Honors Program-participating department within the College of Arts and Sciences. Honors Council representatives, on behalf of their departments, set departmental requirements for honors theses, including thesis format, research methods, and thesis class requirements. Students should always start by contacting the Honors Council representative(s) for their major. The Honors Council meets in April and November to award honors designations, first in divisional subcommittees and then as a full council.

Honors Council Representatives

(Departments: Need to update your representatives on this list? Email honors@colorado.edu.)

Department Honors Council Representative Email
Anthropology

Steven Leigh 
Biological Anthropology

steven.leigh@colorado.edu

 

Alison Cool
Cultural Anthropology

alison.cool@colorado.edu
  Douglas Bamforth
Archaeology
bamforth@colorado.edu
Applied Math Anne Dougherty anne.dougherty@colorado.edu
Art and Art History Marina Kassianidou
Art Practices

marina.kassianidou@colorado.edu

  Robert Nauman
Art History
robert.nauman@colorado.edu
Asian Languages and Civilizations Marjorie Burge (Fall 2022 only) Marjorie.Burge@colorado.edu
  Evelyn Shih (beginning Spring 2023) evelyn.shih@colorado.edu
Asian Studies Lauren Collins lauren.collins@colorado.edu
Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences Ann-Marie Madigan (Fall 2022 only) annmarie.madigan@colorado.edu
  David Malaspina (Spring 2023 only) david.malaspina@lasp.colorado.edu
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Derek Brown derek.brown@colorado.edu
Biochemistry Jeffrey Cameron jeffrey.c.cameron@colorado.edu
Chemistry Robert Parson robert.parson@colorado.edu
Cinema Studies and Moving Image Arts Melinda Barlow melinda.barlow@colorado.edu
Classics Yvona Trnka-Amrhein (Spring 2023 only) yvona.trnka-amrhein@colorado.edu
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Barbara Demmig-Adams barbara.demmig-adams@colorado.edu
  Pieter Johnson pieter.johnson@colorado.edu
Economics Brian Cadena brian.cadena@colorado.edu
  Terra McKinnish terra.mckinnish@colorado.edu
English Marcia Douglas
Creative Writing 
mdouglas@colorado.edu
 

Ben Robertson
Creative Writing and
English Literature

benjamin.j.robertson@colorado.edu
  Jeremy Green jeremy.green@colorado.edu
  Teresa Nugent teresa.nugent@Colorado.edu
  Emily Harrington harrington@colorado.edu
Environmental Studies Cassandra Brooks cassandra.Brooks@colorado.edu
  Zia Mehrabi zia.mehrabi@colorado.edu
  Colleen Scanlan Lyons colleen.scanlanlyons@colorado.edu
  Kyungsun Lee Kyungsun.Lee@colorado.edu
Ethnic Studies Jessica Ordaz Jessica.Ordaz@Colorado.EDU
  Nishant Upadhyay nishant.upadhyay@colorado.edu
French and Italian Elisabeth Arnould-Bloomfield elisabeth.arnould-bloomfield@colorado.edu
Geography Bill Travis william.travis@colorado.edu
  Joe Bryan jbryan@colorado.edu
  Taneesha Mohan (beginning Spring 2023)  
Geological Sciences Brian Hynek brian.hynek@lasp.colorado.edu
  Lon Abbott lon.abbott@colorado.edu
Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures Adrienne Merritt adrienne.merritt@colorado.edu
History Matthew Gerber Matthew.Gerber@Colorado.EDU
Humanities Annjeanette Wiese annjeanette.wiese@colorado.edu
Integrative Physiology Mark Opp mark.opp@colorado.edu
  Tammy Maldonado tammy.maldonado@colorado.edu
  Alena Grabowski alena.grabowski@colorado.edu
International Affairs Douglas Snyder douglas.snyder@colorado.edu
Jewish Studies Sam Boyd samuel.boyd@colorado.edu
Linguistics Jeremy Calder jeremy.calder@colorado.edu
Mathematics Nathaniel Thiem nathaniel.thiem@colorado.edu
  Magdalena Czubak magda.czubak@colorado.edu
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology Christy Fillman christy.fillman@colorado.edu
  Jennifer Martin jennifer.m.martin@colorado.edu
  Joel Kralj Joel.Kralj@colorado.edu
  Brian DeDecker dedecker@colorado.edu
  Pamela Harvey pamela.harvey@colorado.edu
  Kristin Moore kristin.a.moore@colorado.edu
Philosophy Iskra Fileva iskra.fileva@colorado.edu
Physics Michael Ritzwoller michael.ritzwoller@colorado.edu
  John Cumalat john.p.cumalat@colorado.edu
  Paul Beale paul.beale@colorado.edu
  Jun Ye jun.ye@colorado.edu
Political Science Jennifer Fitzgerald jennifer.fitzgerald@colorado.edu
Psychology and Neuroscience Eliana Colunga eliana.colunga@colorado.edu
  Michael Baratta Michael.Baratta@Colorado.edu
  For additional readers: https://www.colorado.edu/psych-neuro/undergraduates/honors-program
Religious Studies Deborah Whitehead deborah.whitehead@colorado.edu
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences Kathryn Arehart kathryn.arehart@colorado.edu
  Christine Brennan (Spring 2023 only) christine.brennan@colorado.edu
Sociology Amanda Stewart Amanda.Stewart-1@colorado.edu
Spanish and Portuguese Javier Rivas Rodriguez jose.rivas-rodriguez@colorado.edu
Theatre and Dance Ted Stark (only Spring 2023) theodore.stark@colorado.edu
  Chip Persons (beginning Fall 2023) chip.persons@colorado.edu
  Anya Cloud anya.cloud@colorado.edu
Women and Gender Studies Janet Jacobs jacobsjl@colorado.edu
General Honors Alison Hatch alison.hatch@colorado.edu
  Kate Fischer fischerk@colorado.edu
  Abby Hickcox abby.hickcox@colorado.edu
  Jennifer Schwartz jennifer.schwartz@colorado.edu