Why contact your department first? Your department should be your first contact because they'll set the guidelines and requirements for their honors students. Some departments require students to apply to pursue honors in the department (and be accepted) before the honors project can begin. Students considering a General Honors thesis project should start here.

What is the Honors Council? The Honors Council is a body of faculty made up of representatives from each Honors Program-participating department within the College of Arts and Sciences. Honors Council representatives, on behalf of their departments, set departmental requirements for honors theses, including thesis format, research methods, and thesis class requirements. Students should always start by contacting the Honors Council representative(s) for their major. The Honors Council meets in April and November to award honors designations, first in divisional subcommittees and then as a full council.

Honors Council Representatives

(Departments: Need to update your representatives on this list? Email honors@colorado.edu.)


Department Honors Council Representative Email
Anthropology Steven Leigh


  Alison Cool alison.cool@colorado.edu
  Douglas Bamforth bamforth@colorado.edu
Applied Math Anne Dougherty anne.dougherty@colorado.edu
Art and Art History Art Practices: Marina Kassianidou


  Art History: Robert Nauman robert.nauman@colorado.edu
Asian Languages and Civilizations Katherine Alexander katherine.alexander@colorado.edu
Asian Studies J. Colleen Berry colleen.berry@colorado.edu
Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences Ann-Marie Madigan annmarie.madigan@colorado.edu
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Derek Brown derek.brown@colorado.edu
Biochemistry Jeffrey Cameron jeffrey.c.cameron@colorado.edu
  Joe Falke joseph.falke@colorado.edu
Chemistry Robert Parson robert.parson@colorado.edu
Cinema Studies and Moving Image Arts Melinda Barlow melinda.barlow@colorado.edu
Classics Sarah James sarah.a.james@colorado.edu
Computer Science Shiv Mishra shivakaht.mishra@colorado.edu
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Barbara Demmig-Adams barbara.demmig-adams@colorado.edu
  Pieter Johnson pieter.johnson@colorado.edu
Economics Brian Cadena brian.cadena@colorado.edu
  Terra McKinnish terra.mckinnish@colorado.edu
English Emily Harrington harrington@colorado.edu
  Thora Brylowe Thora.Brylowe@colorado.edu
  Ed Rivers ed.rivers@colorado.edu
  Maria Windell Maria.Windell@colorado.edu
Environmental Studies Dale Miller


  Pete Newton peter.newton@colorado.edu
Ethnic Studies Nicholas Villanueva nicholas.villanueva@colorado.edu
French and Italian Cosetta Seno cosetta.seno@colorado.edu
Geography Bill Travis william.travis@colorado.edu
  Heide Bruckner heide.bruckner@colorado.edu
  Holly Barnard holly.barnard@colorado.edu
Geological Sciences Brian Hynek brian.hynek@lasp.colorado.edu
Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures Jillian Porter Jillian.Porter@Colorado.EDU
History Myles Osborne myles.osborne@colorado.edu
Humanities Paul Gordon paul.gordon@colorado.edu
Integrative Physiology Mark Opp mark.opp@colorado.edu
  Alena Grabowski alena.grabowski@colorado.edu
International Affairs Douglas Snyder douglas.snyder@colorado.edu
Jewish Studies Sam Boyd samuel.boyd@colorado.edu
Linguistics Jeremy Calder jeremy.calder@colorado.edu
Mathematics Nathaniel Thiem nathaniel.thiem@colorado.edu
  Magdalena Czubak magda.czubak@colorado.edu
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology Christy Fillman christy.fillman@colorado.edu
  Jennifer Martin jennifer.m.martin@colorado.edu
  Robin Dowell robin.dowell@colorado.edu
  Brian DeDecker dedecker@colorado.edu
  Pamela Harvey pamela.harvey@colorado.edu
  Alison Vigers Alison.Vigers@colorado.edu
Philosophy Iskra Fileva iskra.fileva@colorado.edu
Physics Dan Dessau dessau@colorado.edu
  John Cumalat john.p.cumalat@colorado.edu
  Paul Beale paul.beale@colorado.edu
  Jun Ye jun.ye@colorado.edu
Political Science Janet Donavan janet.donavan@colorado.edu
Psychology and Neuroscience Lewis Harvey lewis.harvey@colorado.edu
  Heidi Day heidi.day@colorado.edu
  Eliana Colunga eliana.colunga@colorado.edu
  For additional readers: https://www.colorado.edu/psych-neuro/undergraduates/honors-program
Religious Studies Deborah Whitehead deborah.whitehead@colorado.edu
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences Kathryn Arehart kathryn.arehart@colorado.edu
Sociology Lori Hunter Lori.Hunter@colorado.edu
Spanish and Portuguese Javier Rivas Rodriguez jose.rivas-rodriguez@colorado.edu
Theatre and Dance Ted Stark theodore.stark@colorado.edu
  Bud Coleman bud.coleman@colorado.edu
  Chip Persons chip.persons@colorado.edu
Women and Gender Studies Robert Wyrod robert.wyrod@colorado.edu
General Honors Alison Hatch alison.hatch@colorado.edu
  Kate Fischer fischerk@colorado.edu
  Abby Hickcox abby.hickcox@colorado.edu
  Jenny Schwartz jennifer.schwartz@colorado.edu
  Alphonse Keasley alphonse.keasley@colorado.edu