Why contact your department first? Your department should be your first contact because they'll set the guidelines and requirements for their honors students. Some departments require students to apply to pursue honors in the department (and be accepted) before the honors project can begin. Students considering a General Honors thesis project should start here.

What is the Honors Council? The Honors Council is a body of faculty made up of representatives from each Honors Program-participating department within the College of Arts and Sciences. Honors Council representatives, on behalf of their departments, set departmental requirements for honors theses, including thesis format, research methods, and thesis class requirements. Students should always start by contacting the Honors Council representative(s) for their major. The Honors Council meets in April and November to award honors designations, first in divisional subcommittees and then as a full council.

Honors Council Representatives

(Departments: Need to update your representatives on this list? Email honors@colorado.edu.)

 

Department Honors Council Representative Email
Anthropology

Steven Leigh 
Biological Anthropology

steven.leigh@colorado.edu

 

Alison Cool
Cultural Anthropology

alison.cool@colorado.edu
  Douglas Bamforth
Archaeology
bamforth@colorado.edu
Applied Math Anne Dougherty anne.dougherty@colorado.edu
Art and Art History Marina Kassianidou
Art Practices

marina.kassianidou@colorado.edu

  Robert Nauman
Art History
robert.nauman@colorado.edu
Asian Languages and Civilizations Marjorie Burge Marjorie.Burge@colorado.edu
     
Asian Studies Lauren Collins lauren.collins@colorado.edu
Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences Ann-Marie Madigan annmarie.madigan@colorado.edu
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Derek Brown derek.brown@colorado.edu
Biochemistry Jeffrey Cameron jeffrey.c.cameron@colorado.edu
Chemistry Robert Parson robert.parson@colorado.edu
Cinema Studies and Moving Image Arts Melinda Barlow melinda.barlow@colorado.edu
Classics Sarah James sarah.a.james@colorado.edu
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Barbara Demmig-Adams barbara.demmig-adams@colorado.edu
Economics Brian Cadena brian.cadena@colorado.edu
  Terra McKinnish terra.mckinnish@colorado.edu
English Stephen Graham Jones
Creative Writing 
sgjones@colorado.edu
  Jeremy Green jeremy.green@colorado.edu
  Karim Mattar karim.mattar@colorado.edu
  Teresa Nugent teresa.nugent@Colorado.edu
  Emily Harrington harrington@colorado.edu
Environmental Studies Cassandra Brooks cassandra.Brooks@colorado.edu
  Zia Mehrabi zia.mehrabi@colorado.edu
  Colleen Scanlan Lyons colleen.scanlanlyons@colorado.edu
  Roger Pielke Jr. Roger.Pielke@colorado.edu
Ethnic Studies Jessica Ordaz Jessica.Ordaz@Colorado.EDU
French and Italian Elisabeth Arnould-Bloomfield elisabeth.arnould-bloomfield@colorado.edu
Geography Bill Travis (beginning Spring 2022) william.travis@colorado.edu
  Heide Bruckner heide.bruckner@colorado.edu
Geological Sciences Brian Hynek brian.hynek@lasp.colorado.edu
  Lon Abbott lon.abbott@colorado.edu
Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures Adrienne Merritt adrienne.merritt@colorado.edu
History Sungyun Lim sungyun.lim@colorado.edu
Humanities Annjeanette Wiese annjeanette.wiese@colorado.edu
Integrative Physiology Mark Opp mark.opp@colorado.edu
  Tammy Maldonado tammy.maldonado@colorado.edu
  Alena Grabowski (beginning Spring 2022) alena.grabowski@colorado.edu
International Affairs Douglas Snyder douglas.snyder@colorado.edu
Jewish Studies Sam Boyd samuel.boyd@colorado.edu
Linguistics Jeremy Calder jeremy.calder@colorado.edu
Mathematics Nathaniel Thiem (Fall 2021 only) nathaniel.thiem@colorado.edu
  Magdalena Czubak magda.czubak@colorado.edu
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology Christy Fillman christy.fillman@colorado.edu
  Jennifer Martin jennifer.m.martin@colorado.edu
  Joel Kralj Joel.Kralj@colorado.edu
  Brian DeDecker dedecker@colorado.edu
  Pamela Harvey pamela.harvey@colorado.edu
  Kristin Moore kristin.a.moore@colorado.edu
Philosophy Iskra Fileva iskra.fileva@colorado.edu
Physics Dan Dessau dessau@colorado.edu
  John Cumalat john.p.cumalat@colorado.edu
  Paul Beale paul.beale@colorado.edu
  Jun Ye jun.ye@colorado.edu
Political Science Jennifer Fitzgerald jennifer.fitzgerald@colorado.edu
Psychology and Neuroscience Eliana Colunga eliana.colunga@colorado.edu
  Akira Miyake Akira.Miyake@colorado.edu
  David Root David.Root@Colorado.edu
  For additional readers: https://www.colorado.edu/psych-neuro/undergraduates/honors-program
Religious Studies Deborah Whitehead deborah.whitehead@colorado.edu
Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences Kathryn Arehart kathryn.arehart@colorado.edu
Sociology Amanda Stewart Amanda.Stewart-1@colorado.edu
Spanish and Portuguese Javier Rivas Rodriguez jose.rivas-rodriguez@colorado.edu
Theatre and Dance Ted Stark theodore.stark@colorado.edu
  Chip Persons chip.persons@colorado.edu
Women and Gender Studies Leila Gomez leila.gomez@colorado.edu
General Honors Alison Hatch alison.hatch@colorado.edu
  Kate Fischer fischerk@colorado.edu
  Abby Hickcox abby.hickcox@colorado.edu
  Jennifer Schwartz jennifer.schwartz@colorado.edu