Kristi Anseth inducted into 2015 National Academy of Inventors

Professor Kristi Anseth has been named a National Academy of Inventors Fellow, a distinction recognizing academic inventors whose innovations make a tangible impact on society.

Christine Hrenya

ChBE Professor Christine Hrenya and co-PI Thomas Hauser of research computing received an 18-month award of $686K from the Department of Energy for “AOI [4B] MFIX DEM Enhancement for Industry-Relevant Flows.”

Hendrik Heinz

For experimental and modeling studies of new commercial organic additive for the grinding of inorganic solids, ChBE Professor Hendrik Heinz and his colleagues recently rece

Professor Christine Hrenya has been appointed an Associate Editor of the AIChE Journal.

Al Weimer

As recognition of his transformational contributions to the production of renewable/ sustainable hydrogen by splitting water using concentrated sunlight, Professor Al Weimer

Will Medlin

The 2015 Dean’s Outstanding Research Award, based on excellence in research as assessed by annual evaluations, was bestowed upon Associate Professor Will Medlin

Jennifer Cha

Norviel Associate Professor Jennifer Cha has been honored as a 2015 Provost’s Faculty Achievement Award winner.

Alan Weimer

Professor Alan Weimer has received the 2015 AIChE Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum (NSEF) Award for his innovative nanoengineering work.

John Falconer

Professor John Falconer is the recipient of the 2015 Warren K. Lewis Award for Chemical Engineering Education.

Lauren Miremont

Congratulations to Lauren Miremont, the April 2016 CEAS Employee of the Month!

Since joining the department as its Financial Manager in 2014, Lauren has become instrumental in providing award, budgeting and expenditures support.

Congratulations to all the honorees at the 2015 ChBE Awards Banquet!

Undergraduate Student Awards

Donald F. Othmer Sophomore Academic Excellence (CHEN)

Deb Renshaw

The 2015 ChBE Employee Recognition Award was presented to Dr.

Maria Toscano-Leary

Electronics Engineer Maria Toscano-Leary was chosen as the winner of the 2014 ChBE Employee Recognition Award.

Jen Gifford

Congratulations to Assistant to the Chair Jen Gifford, who received the April 2013 College of Engineering Staff Appreciation Award.

Dominique DeVangel

Dominique DeVangel received the April College of Engineering Staff Appreciation Award.

Frannie Ray Earle was the recipient of the 2011 University Staff Council Service Excellence Award for the Boulder Campus.

Ben Grote

The department is proud to recognize senior Ben Grote of Littleton, winner of the 2016 Donald Mackison Student Writing Award. The award includes a $1,000 prize and recognition at an upcoming ceremony.

2016 NSF Honorable Mentions - Coan, Coscia, Falatach, McGrath

Congratulations to graduate students Patrick Coan, Benjamin Coscia, Rebecca Falatach, and Mike McGrath for being awarded 2016 NSF Honorable Mentions.

Keesha Erickson

PhD candidate Keesha Erickson won a competitive 2016 Dean’s Graduate Student Research Grant Award for her proposal, “Discovery of novel drug

Jace Blackburn

The winner of the Genentech Outstanding Student Award is CBEN junior Jace Blackburn.

Vanessa Witte

Vanessa Witte was awarded 3rd place in the 2015 Undergraduate Student Poster Competition at the AIChE Annual Meeting in Salt Lake City last week.

Tariq Jamil

PhD student Tariq Jamil received a travel grant from the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) to present multiple talks at the fall 2015 Materials Science & Technology (MS&T) conference in Columbus, Ohio.

Andrew Weidner

Senior chemical engineering student Andrew Weidner was the recipient of a prestigious Astronaut Scholarship Foundation Award

Brady Worrell

Postdoctoral Research Associate Brady Worrell has received a prestigious Arnold O. Beckman Postdoctoral Fellows Award.

Congratulations to all the honorees at the 2015 ChBE Awards Banquet!

Undergraduate Student Awards

Donald F. Othmer Sophomore Academic Excellence (CHEN)

Glenn Hafenstine

The Ryland Graduate Fellowship was recently awarded to graduate student Glenn Hafenstine to continue his research on catalytic upgrading of cellular products into high value hydrocarbons.