News Highlights

DOE Logo

The ChBE department was recently awarded support for two graduate training programs through the US Department of Education’s GAANN (Graduate Assistantships in Areas of National Need) initiative.

Andrew Weidner

Senior chemical engineering student Andrew Weidner was the recipient of a prestigious Astronaut Scholarship Foundation Award

Will Medlin

The 2015 Dean’s Outstanding Research Award, based on excellence in research as assessed by annual evaluations, was bestowed upon Associate Professor Will Medlin

Danielle Benoit

Danielle Benoit (PhD ChemEngr’06), a former doctorate student under the advisement of Professor Kristi Anseth, was chosen by the Cellular and Molecular

Jia Wei Chew

ChBE alumnae Jia Wei Chew has received Singapore’s highest accolade for youth, the 2015 Singapore Youth Award (SYA).


When not consulting for ExxonMobil and Shell, alumnus Alexander von Allmen (ChemEngr'12) devotes time to making life a little fresher.

Jennifer Cha

Norviel Associate Professor Jennifer Cha has been honored as a 2015 Provost’s Faculty Achievement Award winner.

Alan Weimer

Professor Alan Weimer has received the 2015 AIChE Nanoscale Science and Engineering Forum (NSEF) Award for his innovative nanoengineering work.