Published: May 25, 2023

The Office of Faculty Affairs (OFA) presented the first-ever Outstanding Faculty Mentoring Awards on Friday, April 7, at the ACUMent (Across CU Mentoring Program) celebration lunch. The awards honor faculty who have shown excellence in mentorship for faculty members in and outside their departments.  

Click to enlarge
Note: Mileidis “Millie” Gort was unable to attend the awards ceremony

The mission of OFA is to help faculty envision, develop and sustain successful careers at CU Boulder; provide faculty with opportunities to engage with the campus community; and create a sense of belonging to and ownership of the institution. Mentoring is a proven way of creating an inclusive and welcoming environment for faculty, and these individuals exemplify the qualities and contributions that make CU Boulder a place where faculty want to build their careers and thrive.

This year's $500 prize will be dedicated to the awardees’ research and development funds.

The awards were presented by Ann Schmiesing, vice chancellor and executive vice provost for academic resource management, and Michele Moses, vice chancellor and vice provost for faculty affairs.

The six 2023 awardees are:

  • Eric Frew, Professor, Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering and Applied Science
  • Mileidis “Millie” Gort, Professor, Equity, Bilinguilism & Biliteracy School of Education
  • Anu Sharma, Program and Associate Chair, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences College of Arts and Sciences
  • Christine Macdonald, Associate Teaching Professor, Writing and Rhetoric, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Deepti Misri, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Women and Gender Studies, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Mithi Mukerjee, Associate Professor, History, College of Arts and Sciences