Advisor helping student in an officeTuition and fees for Summer Session are assessed separately from the fall and spring semesters.

Tuition and fee rates are determined by your program of study, residency classification, and the number of credit hours in which you are enrolled. The Bursar’s Office website publishes tuition and fees for:

Housing costs may also appear on the tuition and fee bill. See the Housing and Dining Services website for more information on rates for Summer Session.

Confirmation Deposits

New degree students must pay a $200 confirmation deposit at least 24 hours before they’re allowed to register for courses. If the student withdraws during their first semester at CU, they are not eligible for a confirmation deposit refund.

After the student’s first semester, the university holds their deposit until the student graduates, drops all their classes by the 100 percent withdrawal deadline, or never enrolls in a semester. At that time, deposits are credited toward any outstanding debts and any available refund is directly deposited into the student’s bank account or mailed to their permanent address (approximately six to eight weeks later).

If the student later returns to CU Boulder, they will be expected to pay back the confirmation deposit after they re-enroll. Visit the Bursar’s Office website to learn more.

CU Boulder applies the interest earned from confirmation deposits to student financial aid.

In addition to tuition, students must pay fees each semester. See Mandatory Student Fees and Other Fees and Charges on the University Bill. The Athletic Fee, Career Services Fee and Graduate and Professional Student Government (GPSG) Grad Fee are not charged during the summer. Fees are determined by several factors including, but not limited to, session, number of credit hours, residency and graduate status. Fees by session are listed on the reverse side of Summer 2021 Tuition & Fee Rate Sheets.

Note: Doctoral candidates (graduate status D only) are charged base fees and do not have access to the Recreation Center. 

Nondegree students are also automatically assessed the mandatory student fees, but may be able to waive all of them with the exception of the A&S tech fee and the computing fee. Call 303-492-2212 for more information or complete the fee waiver form and return it to Continuing Education.

The College Opportunity Fund (COF), created by the Colorado Legislature, provides a stipend that pays a portion of total in-state tuition for eligible undergraduate students who attend a Colorado public institution or a participating private institution.

Students may be eligible to apply their COF stipend to their Summer Session tuition if they’ve done the following:

If the student authorizes CU Boulder to apply the COF stipend to their tuition and fee bill, it will do so automatically until the student graduates, revokes their authorization or exceeds their credit limit. Visit the Office of the Registrar’s website for more information.

Summer Session drop and withdrawal deadlines occur soon after the first day of classes.

Please be aware of the add/drop/withdrawal deadlines for each session to avoid being charged for classes you wish to drop.

If you add additional credit hours after your bill is generated, you will be charged for those hours separately. You are not charged for waitlisted courses.

See withdrawal information if you are dropping all your courses in either a specific session or all of Summer Session.

Students in a double-degree program are assessed tuition for the college or school with the higher tuition rate.