Gerda Henkel Prize

Please see the full solicitation for complete information about the funding opportunity. Below is a summary assembled by the Research & Innovation Office (RIO).

Program Summary

The Gerda Henkel Prize was set up in 2006 and is awarded every two years to excellent and internationally acclaimed researchers who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement in the disciplines and funding areas supported by the Foundation and can be expected to continue to do so.

Support is primarily provided for the historical humanities, in particular to support research projects in the following fields:

  • Archaeology
  • History
  • Historical Islamic Studies
  • Art History
  • History of Law
  • Prehistory and Early History
  • History of Science


CU Internal Deadline: 11:59pm MST December 2, 2019

Sponsor Application Deadline: MST January 17, 2020

Internal Application Requirements (all in PDF format)

  • Recommendation letter (1-2 pages maximum) from chair, dean, or director indicating support for the nominee
  • Nominee’s CV

To access the online application, visit:


The Foundation invites scholars of universities worldwide, as well as renowned cultural and academic institutions, to nominate qualified candidates. The prize is open to scholars from all countries. Self-nominations cannot be accepted. Neither members of the Foundation Committees or the jury nor employees of the Gerda Henkel Foundation may participate in the nomination process or be nominated for the prize.

Limited Submission Guidelines

Each institution or individual may only nominate one candidate.

Award Information

The Gerda Henkel Prize is worth 100,000 euros. The prize money may be used at the winner’s discretion. The ceremonial address is expected to be published within six months at the latest