The Instructor-Track Faculty Affairs Committee (ITFAC) shall consider issues pertaining to instructors (and where appropriate, lecturers), including but not limited to compensation, workload, performance review, promotion, contract renewal, and intellectual freedom.  The Committee shall periodically review Academic Affairs and other campus policies relating to the professional responsibilities of instructor-track faculty.  The Committee shall act as a clearinghouse for suggestions and concerns for instructor-track faculty matters.

Committee Composition

The Instructor-Track Faculty Affairs Committee shall have a minimum of seven faculty and may choose additional members, subject to approval by the BFA Executive Committee, to ensure sufficient membership to address specific issues and concerns as they arise.  The committee shall consist of at least two BFA members regardless of faculty status, a minimum of three instructors from different disciplines, and at least two tenured or tenure-track faculty. 

The Committee may invite, as the need arises, non-voting resource members who have valuable expertise pertaining to the Committee’s charge.

Administrative Liaison

The administrative liaison for the Instructor-Track Faculty Affairs Committee is the Office of Faculty Affairs (Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs or his/her designee).

Interface with other Committees and Governance Bodies

The Instructor-Track Faculty Affairs Committee shall interface with the BFA Faculty Affairs Committee on a regular basis, with the chair of ITFAC attending Faculty Affairs Committee meetings as needed in a non-voting resource role.

As needs or opportunities arise, the BFA Instructor-Track Faculty Affairs Committee will invite members of other governance bodies and/or their relevant committees to attend ITFAC meetings as a non-voting resource member.  Likewise, BFA ITFAC would welcome the opportunity to attend the meetings of other governance bodies (or their respective committees), in a non-voting resource capacity, should the need or opportunity arise.

Fall 2021 Meetings:

  • TBD

Continue work on recommendations from the A&S Instructor Task Force report


NameContact Information
Rolf Norgaard
At-Large Representative A&S • ITFAC Committee Chair • Executive Committee
Program for Writing and Rhetoric


NameContact Information
Rolf Norgaard
At-Large Representative A&S • ITFAC Committee Chair • Executive Committee
Program for Writing and Rhetoric
Adam Norris
BFA Secretary • BFA Committee Chair • At-Large Representative Other Units • Executive Committee • Bylaws Representative: BFA Secretary • NEC Chair • ITFAC Representative: BFA
Applied Mathematics

ITFAC Rep: Senate

NameContact Information
Robert Buchwald
Unit Representative • ASTC Representative: Arts and Sciences • ITFAC Representative: Senate
Heidi Bustamante
ITFAC Representative: Senate
Integrative Physiology
Tyler Lansford
At Large Representative A&S • ITFAC Senate
Ryan Pollard
At Large Representative A&S • ITFAC Representative: Senate
Speech / Language / Hearing
Julie Marie Shepherd Macklin
ITFAC Representative: Senate
Janet Donavan
ITFAC Representative: Senate
Political Science
Stephanie Mayer
ITFAC Representative: Senate
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

ITFAC Tenure Track Faculty Representative

NameContact Information
Melissa Cantrell
At Large Representative: Other Units • ITFAC Representative: Tenure Track
University Libraries
Zachary Herz
Department Representative • ITFAC Representative: Tenure Track

ITFAC Campus Liaison Members

NameContact Information
Michele Moses
ITFAC Liaison • AAC Resource • Assoc. Vice Chancellor for Faculty Affairs • FAC Resource • ITFAC Liaison
Office of Faculty Affairs

ITFAC Faculty Resource Members

NameContact Information
Janet Casagrand
Department Representative • ASTC Chair • ITFAC Resource
Integrative Physiology
Cathy Comstock
At-Large Representative A&S • ITFAC Resource
Farrand RAP