Published: Oct. 26, 2018

In one of the campus's longest standing traditions, 13 outstanding members of the CU Boulder community were honored Oct. 25 during the Alumni Association's 89th annual alumni awards ceremony, a Homecoming week event.

The event was held in a packed Glenn Miller Ballroom on campus, with a welcome from Ryan Chreist, assistant vice chancellor and executive director of the Alumni Association; remarks and presentation of the awards by Chancellor Philip P. DiStefano; and emceeing by Kim Christiansen, 9News anchor and CU Boulder alumna.

The following exceptional alumni, faculty, students and community members were the recipients of the 2018 Alumni Awards.

Forever Buffs Student Award

The Forever Buffs Student award honors CU Boulder students who demonstrate the Forever Buffs tenets of connection, contributing and celebrating their CU pride through extraordinary service to the university.

  • Alan Sanchez (AeroEngr '17; MS '18)

Leanne Skupa-Lee Award

Presented since 1984, this award recognizes effective and passionate volunteers who serve CU and the CU Boulder Alumni Association with extraordinary commitment, dedication and service to the advancement of the institution and its mission.

  • Alex Passett (EnvDes '86)

Alumni Recognition Award

A tradition since 1935, this award honors CU Boulder alumni who celebrate the Forever Buffs tenets of connecting, contributing and celebrating their CU pride through their extraordinary service to the university.

  • John Leach (Jour '74; MA '79)
  • Matthew McElhiney (Fin '86)

Kalpana Chawla Outstanding Recent Graduate Award

Presented since 1982 and renamed in 2004, this award—honoring its namesake's impressive career as a scientist, an astronaut who perished aboard the space shuttle Columbia—recognizes CU Boulder alumni who have made exceptional contributions to their field within 15 years of leaving campus.

  • Jared Leidich (MechEngr '09)
  • Bethany Leonardi (PhDEdu '14) and Sara Staley (PhDEdu '14)
  • Daniel Ramos (Soc, Span '10; MPubAd '14)

Robert L. Stearns Award

This award recognizes members of the faculty and staff for extraordinary achievement in any one or combination of the following areas: teaching, service to the university, work with students, research or off-campus service.

  • Dennis Eckart
  • Natalie Koster (Ger, MA '07)

George Norlin Award

The George Norlin Award honors alumni of CU Boulder for distinguished achievement in their chosen fields of endeavor and a devotion to the betterment of society and their community.

  • Olester Benson Jr. (Chem '81; PhD '88)
  • Herb Ilisaurri Schroeder (PhDCivEngr '91)
  • Lorenzo A. Trujillo (Span '72; MDance '74; Law '93)