Published: April 23, 2018
Sustainability awards ceremony at the annual Campus Sustainability Summit

The Campus Sustainability Summit, now in its 25th year, is an information-sharing forum that features strategic updates and inter-departmental discussions on campus sustainability initiatives. Learn about sustainability-related developments in academic, engagement and operational realms, as well as new, innovative and interesting initiatives underway at CU Boulder. Boulder Mayor Suzanne Jones and Vice Chancellor David Kang are expected to participate.

If you go

Who: Open to the public
What: Campus Sustainability Summit
When: Wednesday, April 25, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Where: University Memorial Center, Glenn Miller Ballroom

Please note the deadline has passed to reserve a lunch for the awards ceremony.

Anyone is welcome to attend portions of interest during the event, which is free and open. Pre-registration is not required. Please note, however, that the deadline has passed to reserve a lunch for the awards ceremony.

The 21st annual Campus Sustainability Awards program recognizes outstanding individuals and departments demonstrating a sincere commitment to transforming the CU Boulder campus into a living laboratory for sustainability.

Awardees exhibit innovation that directly reduces the university's ecological footprint, enhances social cohesion and equity in the campus community and/or integrates sustainability into the culture of Boulder and our local communities.

CU Boulder leadership will present this year's awards at a ceremony from noon to 1:30 p.m. Wednesday, April 25, in the Glenn Miller Ballroom. 

Campus Sustainability Awardees, Special Recognitions

  • Tyler Huggins, Outstanding Alumni
  • Justin Whiteley, Outstanding Alumni
  • Distribution Center, Departmental Achievement
  • Environmental Health and Safety Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Group, Departmental Achievement
  • J.P. Bechtel, Individual Achievement
  • Curt Huetson, Individual Achievement
  • Rayna Oliker, Individual Achievement
  • Ron Thompson, Individual Achievement
  • Darren Willett, Individual Achievement
  • Kayla Adair, Special Recognition
  • Steven Stuart, Special Recognition
  • Heather Winner, Special Recognition

CU Green Labs Awards

  • EH&S Chemical Redistribution, Partnership for Lab Sustainability
  • SEEL Environmental Engineering Labs, Partnership for Lab Sustainability

Green Office Certification

  • School of Education
  • Office of Admissions
  • CIRES Center for Science and Technology Policy Research
  • Special Undergraduate Enrichment Programs
  • Facilities Management Office of Planning Design and Construction
  • Environmental Health and Safety
  • Police Department