Campus Sustainability Awards

Campus Sustainability Awards

The University of Colorado wishes to recognize outstanding individuals and departments who demonstrate a sincere commitment  to reducing the burden that CU-Boulder places on the environment. The annual awards ceremony takes place each April.

The campus sustainability awards program started in 1997 as a means to recognize commitment to reducing the burden that the CU campus places on the environment.  Outstanding efforts make CU's successful and challenging approaches to attaining sustainability possible.  The awardees exemplify CU's continuing efforts to become a sustainable institution.  They set the example for environmental stewardship and responsibility.  Some of the awardees have made groundbreaking efforts that will change the overall way CU operates, and others make an impact on the community and campus environment with their everyday actions.  All in all, the campus community is contributing toward a sustainable future.

Campus Sustainability Awards Committee (2015)

  • Lisa Barlow, Senior Instructor, Baker Residential Academic Program and Environmental Studies
  • Bruce Goldstein, Associate Professor, Environmental Design and Environmental Studies 
  • Doug Kenney, Director, Western Water Policy Program, Getches-Wilkinson Center for Natural Resources, Energy and the Environment
  • Elizabeth Lock, News Editor, Strategic Relations
  • Marianne Martin, Associate Director, Environmental Center
  • Edward von Bleichert, Manager, Environmental Operations, Department of Facilities Management

2015 Awards Descriptions

Award Selections, 1997-2014

2015 Call for Nominations

Deadline March 5, 2015

Nominate outstanding individuals and departments who demonstrate a sincere commitment to transforming the CU-Boulder campus into a living laboratory for sustainability through innovation that directly reduces the university's ecological footprint, enhances social cohesion and equity in the campus community and, or integrates sustainability into the culture of Boulder and our local communities.

Award Nomination Form