Published: April 6, 2018

The Boulder Faculty Assembly is proud to announce the recipients of the 2018 BFA Excellence Awards. These awards recognize outstanding contributions by faculty in the areas of teaching, service and leadership, and research and creative work.

If you go

What: BFA Excellence Awards featuring faculty address by the 2017 Hazel Barnes winner, reception to follow
When: Thursday, April 26, 4:30–7 p.m.
Where: University Memorial Center, room 235

The awards, which are peer-nominated, are presented in three categories:

  • Excellence in Leadership and Service
  • Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work
  • Excellence in Teaching and Pedagogy

See the 2018 recipients below.

Honoring this year's winners, a ceremony April 26 will feature a faculty address by 2017 Hazel Barnes Prize awardee Distinguished Professor Tom Cech. A reception allowing for attendees to share personal congratulations with each of the award winners will follow. RSVPs were requested by April 19, but walk-up attendees are welcome.

The campus created the BFA Excellence Awards in the early 1980s to recognize outstanding work and concerted effort in advancing the mission of the University and the academy at large. All members of the Boulder faculty, including instructors, are eligible for nomination.

These prestigious awards are made possible through financial support from the chancellor, enabling the BFA to grant each recipient a $3,000 monetary award.

The Hazel Barnes Prize is the largest and most prestigious single faculty award funded by the University of Colorado Boulder. It was established in 1991 by former Chancellor James Corbridge in honor of Philosophy Professor Emerita Hazel Barnes to recognize "the enriching interrelationship between teaching and research."

Hazel Barnes, one of our campus' most accomplished scholars, received a BFA Excellence in Teaching Award in 1983.

Excellence in Leadership and Service

Arturo Aldama, Ethnic Studies
James Green, Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences
Matthew McQueen, Integrative Physiology
Karen Ramirez, Miramontes Arts & Sciences Program

Excellence in Research, Scholarly and Creative Work

Donna Goldstein, Anthropology
David Shneer, Religious Studies/History/Program in Jewish Studies
Katharine Suding, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Kenneth Wright, Integrative Physiology
Paul Youngquist, English

Excellence in Teaching and Pedagogy

Nichole Barger, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Jeanne Clelland, Mathematics
Elizabeth Dutro, School of Education
Andrea Feldman, Program for Writing and Rhetoric
Marcia Yonemoto, History 

BFA Lifetime Leadership and Service Award

William Kaempfer, Academic Affairs