Published: Feb. 17, 2021

The Center for Leadership is pleased to present the recipients of the 2020–21 Newton Endowed Chair in Leadership Student Leaders of the Year Award. This program highlights the impact of leadership education at CU Boulder. By recognizing outstanding students, we reward exceptional work and highlight leadership programs.

All of the recipients will be recognized during the marquee event of the Leo Hill Speaker Series featuring David Brooks on Feb. 23.

The CU Boulder Student Leaders of the Year awards recognize those individuals participating in campus leadership programs who have demonstrated:

  • Academic excellence and curiosity
  • Extraordinary support to and innovation within campus leadership programs
  • Exceptional service to the community, either campus or Boulder metro area
  • A desire to repair the social fabric of America
  • Outstanding character and personal resilience
  • Exemplary embodiment of the Colorado Creed

The university would like to congratulate these students on their accomplishments and are proud to be able to showcase their contributions to their respective communities and CU Boulder.

Citlalli Vazquez Gomez

Vazquez Gomez is a fourth-year student in the Multicultural Leadership Scholars Program. She is originally from Boulder, Colorado, and is pursuing a degree in political science and leadership. Vazquez Gomez embodies the central values of the MLS community in all that she does: She strives to create social change through community leadership and advocacy; she always centers the most vulnerable people in her leadership endeavors; and she seeks out opportunities to continue growing her understanding of herself, others and cultures. She has an unflinching devotion to her dreams, family and communities.

Alisha Lau

Lau is a third-year student and is part of the SCRIPPS Leadership Program as a member of the CU Women’s Golf Team. She is originally from Richmond, British Columbia, and is pursuing a degree in media design. Currently, Lau serves as vice president of long-term and special projects on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC). Her peers note she is committed to forging a brighter path for other student-athletes through her selflessness and dedication. Lau consistently demonstrates honor, integrity and accountability.

Brian Muriithi

Muriithi is a second-year student in the Engineering Leadership Program. He is originally from Denver, Colorado, and is pursuing a degree in aerospace, aeronautical and astronautical engineering. Muriithi is the founder of Kenyan Youth in Colorado and finance chair for CU’s chapter of the National Society of Black Engineers. Muriithi is described by his peers as a person who brings warmth and empathy to all of his interactions. He is an exemplar for embracing differences gracefully and has a deep passion for building community.

Alyssa Radtke

Radtke is a fourth-year student in the Leeds Scholars Program. She is originally from Centennial, Colorado, and is pursuing a degree in business with an emphasis in operations management. Radtke is an active member of Delta Sigma Pi, the business fraternity on campus. Of note, she is revered for her character and servant leadership with an innate sense of curiosity. She is described as being a strong leader, respectful and driven by a sense of purpose to improve herself and the communities around her.

Alexandra Reuter

Reuter is a fourth-year student in the Presidents Leadership Class. She is originally from Superior, Colorado, and is pursuing a degree integrative physiology with a neuroscience certificate and a minor in leadership. Reuter has worked tirelessly to improve the mental wellness programming at CU, as well as other universities around Colorado as a chapter president for Active Minds. She is also a student leader for LEAD Colorado, mentoring high school students from BVSD. Reuter has an unparalleled ability to listen deeply and intentionally with the ability to withhold judgement in favor of understanding.