CU Environmental and Resource Economics Workshop

The 21st Annual CU Environmental and Resource Economics Workshop was September 13–14, 2019 at the Lion Square Lodge in Vail, Colorado and was hosted by Nicholas Flores, CU Department of Economics. The workshop provided researchers the opportunity to share their research results and/or ideas in a relaxed, workshop environment. Ample time was allocated for discussion, allowing researchers to get feedback from other workshop participants. Work presented ranged from proposed research to highly polished and completed projects. Graduate students were especially encouraged to participate. 

In Memoriam: 
Bernard (Bud) Udis, PhD July 18, 1927–August 21, 2018

Bernard Udis died on August 21, 2018, in Albuquerque New Mexico at the age of 91. Bud was born in 1927, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to Lena and Morris Udis.  Bud attended Penn State University where he not only experienced the academic and socially expanding world of college, but also found opportunities to take a stand in support of civil rights. His participation in an organized protest of a segregated barber shop foreshadowed his interest in labor on

Provost’s Faculty Achievement Award: Xiaodong Liu 

Professor Xiaodong Liu was selected for the Provost’s Faculty Achievement Award. The Award recognizes his outstanding research contributions in econometrics. The annual Provost’s Faculty Achievement Awards are presented to selected faculty members who have offered recent significant publications or creative contributions in their academic fields. Awardees receive a grant in the amount of $1,000 to be used to support their research, scholarship and/or creative work. At Fall Convocation, awardees are also presented with a plaque recognizing their achievement. There are two categories of awards: one to recognize the work and promise of junior faculty, and one to recognize the accomplishments of recently tenured associate professors.

2017 Scholarship Award Winners

At the Advisory Board Reception on October 27, 2017 the Christopher S. Randall Scholarship, the Richard L. and Amanda W. Smoot Endowed Scholarship Fund, the Venita and Lyttleton T. Harris Endowed Scholarship Fund, and The Sieglinde Talbott Haller Endowed Economics Scholarship were presented. 

Creative Perspectives on International Trade and Foreign Direct Investment

A Celebration to Honor James Markusen, University Distinguished Professor was held September 1, 2017 in the British Studies Room at Norlin Library, University of Colorado Boulder with a dinner following at the Hotel Boulderado.

Miles Kimball gives inaugural Eaton lecture: "Restoring Economic Growth"

April 17, 2017: Miles Kimball, the Eugene D. Eaton Jr. Chair in Economics and a Professor at the University of Colorado Boulder, presented a public lecture in the Benson Earth Sciences Building, Room 185. A recording of the lecture is available on YouTube, or it can be viewed below:

Professor Kimball also discussed the lecture in his blog.

Jenny Simpson, Emma Coburn collaborate for world record in distance medley relay

January 28, 2017: Olympic bronze medalists Jenny Simpson and Emma Coburn of Boulder teamed with two other U.S. Olympians to break the indoor world record in the distance medley relay Saturday at the New Balance Indoor Grand Prix meet in Boston. Read the entire article at the Denver Post.