CU Boulder doctoral candidate wins Newcombe Fellowship

May 29, 2018

Teresita Lozano has been named one of 21 Charlotte W. Newcombe Doctoral Dissertation Fellows for 2018 by the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation.

Gia Voeltz

Cellular cartographer Voeltz named HHMI investigator, granted $8 million

May 23, 2018

Intro-to-biology textbook images are changing because of her work. Now, Gia Voeltz joins the ranks of researchers named Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigators, an honor that comes with $8 million to take her research wherever it may lead.

Women's golf team

Buffaloes loose, excited to play in NCAA championship

May 18, 2018

After their appearance six years ago in the NCAA Women's Golf Championship, the Buffaloes return with recent big-time performances up and down their lineup, teeing off at the Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma.

Ben Saarel

Buffs' Saarel awarded Pac-12 scholar-athlete of the year

May 18, 2018

Deemed a standout athlete and scholar, CU Boulder's Ben Saarel was recently honored as the Pac-12 men's track and field scholar-athlete of the year.

Kennedy Leonard (second from left) and Wilson Belk (far right) accept their Sports Performance Awards from strength coaches Adam Ringler and Steve Englehart.

CU sports performers of the year recognized

May 18, 2018

Several major awards were presented earlier this month at the 18th annual CUSPY Awards. Hundreds attended the banquet, organized by CU’s Student Athlete Advisory Committee honoring 2017-18 athletic year accomplishments.

Thomas Jefferson

2 from Boulder campus win CU's Thomas Jefferson Award

May 17, 2018

A CU Boulder staff member and student have won one of the university's highest honors recognizing excellence in performance of regular responsibilities and contributions to the community.

CU Boulder graduate student Chiara Forrester

Fascination with mountain plants earns student one of CU Boulder’s 24 NSF fellowships

May 17, 2018

When she learned she was awarded the fellowship, the doctoral student in ecology and evolutionary biology didn’t believe it. She had to read the confirmation three times.

Natalie Ahn and Karolin Luger

National Academy of Sciences inducts 2 CU Boulder professors

May 7, 2018

The 2018 class of National Academy of Sciences inductees includes CU Boulder professors Natalie Ahn and Karolin Luger.

2018 winners left to right: Caty Jansury, Heather Sackett, Robbie Herbst and Charles Shobe

2018 Thompson writing awards winners announced

May 7, 2018

Congratulations to the winners of the 19th annual Thompson Awards for American Writing: Robbie Herbst, fiction; Caty Jansury, poetry; Heather Sackett, memoir; and Charles Shobe, creative nonfiction.

Students release biodegradable balloons as part of class project

2 CU Boulder graduate students receive Department of Energy awards

May 4, 2018

Andrew Johnston Hess and Garrett Rue have been awarded by the DOE's Office of Science Graduate Student Research to pursue graduate thesis research at a DOE laboratory or facility.