CU Boulder Alumni Awards

Several CU community members honored with 2021 Alumni Awards

Sept. 16, 2021

In one of the campus's longest-standing traditions, 8 outstanding individuals, plus the campus's Pandemic Scientific Steering Committee and Science Team—including 12 individuals—are being honored with Alumni Awards for 2021.

Violeta Chapin speaks at the 2018 Diversity and Inclusion Summit

Violeta Chapin wins Polly Baca Raíces Fuertes Community Leader Award

Sept. 16, 2021

Congressman Joe Neguse announced Professor Violeta Chapin as the winner of the 2021 Polly Baca Raíces Fuertes Community Leader Award in honor of Hispanic Heritage Month.

Lisa Marshall

COVID-19 research story nets 2021 PRSA Silver Award

Sept. 14, 2021

Lisa Marshall, associate director of science storytelling in Strategic Relations and Communications, won a Silver Media Relations award from PRSA Colorado in 2021 for her story "New COVID-19 test returns results in 45 minutes, without nasal swab."

NASA stock photo

4 CU Boulder aerospace students earn major NASA awards

Sept. 13, 2021

Four CU Boulder aerospace graduate students have been named 2021 Future Investigators in NASA Earth and Space Science and Technology.

Jun Ye in his lab at JILA

Jun Ye wins Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

Sept. 9, 2021

Ye was cited for his work in developing atomic clocks that are so precise that they would neither gain nor lose one second in roughly 15 billion years.

Researchers on a snow-covered lake

UROP celebrates 2021-22 student grant recipients

Sept. 2, 2021

UROP is pleased to announce the recipients of this academic year's student grants.

2021 Savit Scholar Josh Thompson

UROP scholars pushing boundaries in art and film

Aug. 23, 2021

The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program celebrates 2021 Savit Scholars Josh Thompson and Evie Kiehfuss, who are pushing disciplinary boundaries in art and film.

LASP researcher Scott Piggott and his wife, Jennifer Wood, celebrating his RMS AIAA Professional Engineer of the Year award. (Photo credit: Hanspeter Schaub)

LASP researcher Scott Piggott named engineer of the year by aeronautics, astronautics institute

Aug. 19, 2021

The Rocky Mountain Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, the world’s largest aerospace technical society, selected researcher Scott Piggott as its 2020–21 Professional Engineer of the Year.

Sage Hurta

Alumna Sage Hurta honored as co-Pac-12 woman of the year

Aug. 19, 2021

The University of Colorado track and field aluma Sage Hurta was named a Co-Pac-12 NCAA Woman of the Year nominee along with USC’s Anna Cockrell.

A pride flag in front of the Rocky Mountans

Faculty lauded for helping LGBTQ students stay in school

Aug. 5, 2021

Zach Berta-Thompson and Michael Ritzwoller have won the Evelyn Hooker Advocacy Award, named for a pioneering psychologist who graduated from CU Boulder.