Published: April 23, 2024

The 27th annual Campus Sustainability Awards program recognizes outstanding individuals and departments who demonstrate a sincere commitment to enhancing CU Boulder’s longstanding commitment to sustainability. Awardees exhibit innovation that directly reduces the university's ecological footprint, enhances social cohesion and equity in the campus community and/or integrates sustainability into the culture of Boulder and our local communities.

Awards will be in the form of a 100% recycled-content plaque presented by campus leadership at the 31st annual Campus Sustainability Summit on April 25. 

This year, there are eight campus sustainability awardees:

  • Shideh Dashti, Green Faculty
  • Brigid Mark, Student Leadership
  • Micah Borkan, Student Leadership
  • Dale Miller, Green Faculty
  • David Byrne, Individual Achievement
  • Dave Newport, Legacy Achievement
  • Tim Schiel, Special Recognition for Civic Achievement
  • Creative 3D Printing, Special Recognition for Partnership for Sustainability 

The CU Green Labs Program recognizes five awardees:

  • Alison White, Individual Achievement
  • Bimala Lama, Individual Achievement
  • Jose Escobar, Individual Achievement
  • John Henderson and George Carter, Partnership for Lab Sustainability
  • CEAS Dean’s Office Lab Space Optimization, Leadership Achievement

Learn more about the Campus Sustainability Awards program and the 2024 awardees.